Home // News // The Ben Hogan Award Launches Social Media Sites and Announces Key 2012 Dates
The Ben Hogan Award Launches Social Media Sites and Announces Key 2012 Dates PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 19 January 2012 15:47

FORT WORTH, Texas (Jan. 18, 2012) -- The Ben Hogan Award, the most prestigious award in men’s college golf, is now on Facebook and Twitter.Baird Private Wealth Management, in association with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA), presents The Ben Hogan Award annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer considering all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12-month period.

The winner, chosen among three finalists, will be crowned at a banquet at Colonial Country Club on Monday, May 21, prior to the start of the PGA TOUR’s Crowne Plaza Invitational. The Ben Hogan Award Watch List will be announced on Wednesday, Feb. 1. The list of 10 semifinalists will be unveiled on Wednesday, April 11, and then will be pared down to three finalists on Thursday, May 10.

To find the latest information on the award, including updates on potential The Ben Hogan Award candidates, as well as on previous winners, visit Ben Hogan Award on Facebook and @BenHoganAward on Twitter.

The award, which was first issued in 1990 and also included academic achievement in its list of standards, revised its criteria in 2001 to recognize the outstanding male amateur and collegiate golfer of the year. In 2002, current PGA TOUR player D.J. Trahan became the first recipient.Since that time, Ricky Barnes (2003), Hunter Mahan (2003), Bill Haas (2004), Ryan Moore (2005), Matt Every (2006), Chris Kirk (2007), Ricky Fowler (2008) and Kyle Stanley (2009) have added their names to the list as both The Ben Hogan Award winners as well as PGA TOUR professionals.

Since 2005, the Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial has invited The Ben Hogan Award recipient to compete in the following year's championship.
This will mark the eighth year that the three finalists have been invited to The Ben Hogan Award Banquet held prior to the Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial. Last year’s three finalists were 2011 The Ben Hogan Award recipient Peter Uihlein (Oklahoma State), Patrick Cantlay (UCLA) and Kevin Tway (Oklahoma State).

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ben-Hogan-Award/153050294794552Twitter: @BenHoganAward