Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



2001 National Champion, West Florida, landed the most PING All-America honors with five players named to the teams. The Argos' Bryan Clarke and Kevin Warrick earned first team honors. Lee Gauthier and Stuart Manley were named to the second team, while Joe Christianson was selected honorable mention.

Additionally, NCAA Championships individual medailist, Steve Sokol of Florida Southern was named to the PING All-America First Team.

The GCAA All-America Committee selected the individuals based upon play throughout the 2000-01 season, including the NCAA Championships. To be named to the PING All-America teams, a player must be named to one of the PING All-District teams or finish in the top 15 at the NCAA Championships.

The 2001 PING All-District teams were announced Monday, May 21 at the GCAA National Awards Banquet in Allendale, Mich.

PING All-America First Team
Scott Campbell, Charleston (WV)
Bryan Clarke, West Florida
Mark Lawless, Cal State-Stanislaus
Rob Oppenheim, Rollins (FL)
Steve Paramore, Florida Southern
Steve Sokol, Florida Southern
Lee Stroever, Rollins (FL)
Kevin Warrick, West Florida

PING All-America Second Team
Brandon Brown, Northern Kentucky
Lee Gauthier, West Florida
Stuart Manley, West Florida
Andrew McArthur, Pfeiffer (NC)
Mike Plate, Cal State Bakersfield
Alex Renard, Florida Southern
Christoph Spora, Ferris State (MI)
Jeff Walker, Rollins

PING All-America Third Team
Erin Bevill, East Central (OK)
Ben Case, Pfeiffer (NC)
Gerrod Chadwell, East Central (OK)
James Fleming, Abilene Christian (TX)
Scott Gordon, UC-Davis
Denny Kim, Cal State Stanislaus
Shaun Mahaffey, Cameron (OK) David Robinson, Georgia College & State University

PING All-America Honorable Mention
Matt Avinger, South Carolina-Aiken
Lars Backman, Incarnate Word (TX)
Joe Christianson, West Florida
Aaron Clark, Drury (MO)
Eric Cowles, Grand Valley State (MI)
John Davis, Grand Canyon (AZ)
Jeff Jenkins, Arkansas Tech
Steve Jodlowski, Central Oklahoma
Aaron Kerth, Grand Canyon (AZ)
Corby King, Abilene Christian (TX)
Levi Molini, Northeastern State (OK)
Ryan Mouw, Grand Valley State (MI)
Zack Norrell, Cameron (OK)
Brian O'Leary, Abilene Christian (TX)
B.J. Pitzen, Florida Southern
Rory Ransburg, Indianapolis
Ryan Sikora, Indiana U of Pennsylvania
Andrew Tapia, Southern Colorado
Jason Traeder, Central Missouri State
Tyler Willey, Central Oklahoma