Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Mommo Receives Outback Steakhouse Palmer Award
Averett wins national championship

DELAWARE, Ohio ? Janne Mommo of Averett University claimed medallist honors at the 2003 NCAA Division III Golf National Championships at Dornoch Golf Club in Delaware, Ohio. As a result of his victory, Mommo has been named the recipient of the Outback Steakhouse Arnold Palmer Award. Mommo also helped lead Averett to the Division III team title. The team and individual national championships were the first for Averett in any sport.

Mommo was the only player at the Division III championships to finish the tournament under par, firing a three-under-par 281. Mommo?s 281 broke the NCAA Division III tournament record of 283 set by John Lindquist of Gustavus Adolphus in 1992 and Chad Collins of Methodist in 1998. Earlier this week Mommo received Cleveland Golf All-America Scholar honors and was named to the South PING All-Region Team.

The Outback Steakhouse Arnold Palmer Award is presented annually to the individual medallists in the Division I, II and III men?s golf national championships. Established in 1992, the award is named for legendary golf professional Arnold Palmer, who was the individual collegiate medallist as a member of the Wake Forest University golf team in 1949 and 1950. It has become one of the most recognized and sought after honors in collegiate men?s golf. Past recipients include PGA TOUR stars Phil Mickelson (Arizona State 1992), Justin Leonard (Texas, 1994), Tiger Woods (Stanford, 1996) and Charles Howell III (Oklahoma State, 2000).