Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America




Friday, May 19, 2006



GCAA Announces Division II National Award Recipients

Nicklaus, Mickelson and All-America first-team named  

DANIELS, W.VA. ? Recipients of the Jack Nicklaus Award presented by Dillards Inc. and Hartmarx Corp., Phil Mickelson Award and the PING All-America first-team were announced tonight following the final round of the NCAA Division II Golf Championships at Glade Springs Resort in Daniels, W.Va.

Scott Brown of South Carolina-Aiken received the Nicklaus Award presented by Dillards Inc. and Hartmarx Corp., which is presented to the outstanding player in Division II golf. Brown claimed medalist honors six times this season and only finished out of the top five twice. He also helped lead the Pacers to their third-consecutive national championship.

Cal. State-Bakersfield?s Chris Killmer was named the Phil Mickelson Award winner, which is given to the nation?s outstanding Division II freshman golfer. Killmer earned one individual title this season and placed in the top 10 an additional six times. He did not finish outside the top 20 in 14 events during his freshman campaign.

Nine golfers were accorded PING first-team All-America honors. First-team honorees included Jamie Amoretti of St. Mary?s (Texas), Brown, Central Oklahoma?s Todd Dayton, D.J. Fernando of Cal. State-Bakersfield, Florida Southern?s Greg Koch, Steve Larson of Grand Valley State, St. Martin?s Shane Prante, Brad Risenhoover of Northeastern State and Rollins Dave Walters.

Jack Nicklaus Award presented by Dillards Inc. and Hartmarx Corp.
Scott Brown, South Carolina-Aiken

Phil Mickelson Award
Chris Killmer, Cal. State-Bakersfield

PING All-America First Team
Jamie Amoretti, St. Mary?s (Texas)
Scott Brown, South Carolina-Aiken
Todd Dayton, Central Oklahoma
D.J. Fernando, Cal. State-Bakersfield
Greg Koch, Florida Southern
Steve Larson, Grand Valley State
Shane Prante, St. Martin?s
Brad Risenhoover, Northeastern State
Dan Walters, Rollins