The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



  • Home
  • Archive
  • Semifinalists Announced for 2007 The Ben Hogan Award

Posted Thursday, April 5, 2007

Semifinalists Announced for 2007 The Ben Hogan Award
Award honors top amateur in college golf

NORMAN, Okla. ?  Colonial Country Club and The Friends of Golf (FOG) in cooperation with the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA), has announced the 10 semifinalists for the 2007 The Ben Hogan Award.  The most prestigious award in men?s college golf, The Hogan is presented annually to the top men?s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

The semifinalists are Rhys Davies of East Tennessee State, Florida?s Billy Horschel, Dustin Johnson of Coastal Carolina, Georgia?s Chris Kirk, Colt Knost of SMU, Southern California?s Jamie Lovemark, Pablo Martin and Jonathan Moore of Oklahoma State, Wake Forest?s Webb Simpson and Dawie Van Der Walt of Lamar.  Davies, Kirk and Martin were also semifinalists last season.

The Hogan Award selection committee will announce three finalists on May 2.  The three finalists will attend The Hogan Award banquet on May 21 at Colonial Country Club ? the Monday prior to the Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial - with the recipient announced that day.

2007 The Ben Hogan Award Semifinalists
(in alphabetical order)
Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State
Billy Horschel, Florida
Dustin Johnson, Coastal Carolina
Chris Kirk, Georgia
Colt Knost, SMU
Jamie Lovemark, Southern California
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State
Jonathan Moore, Oklahoma State
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Dawie Van Der Walt, Lamar

The Golf Coaches Association of America

GCAA National Office

1225 West Main Street
Suite 110
Norman, OK 73069

Phone: (405) 329-4222
Fax: (405) 573-7888

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.