The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



  • Home
  • Archive
  • Stanley Wins 2009 Ben Hogan Award Presented by Chesapeake Energy

Friday, May 22, 2009


Stanley Wins 2009 Ben Hogan Award Presented by Chesapeake Energy

FORT WORTH, Texas ? Chesapeake Energy, in association with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the GCAA, has announced Kyle Stanley of Clemson as recipient of the 2009 Ben Hogan Award. The most prestigious award in men?s college golf, the Hogan is presented annually to the top men?s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period.

A junior from Gig Harbor, Wash., Stanley opened his collegiate season with a win at the Carpet Capital Collegiate. He has also posted five other top 10 showings. Stanley claimed his second Southern Amateur and also capture the Jones Cup. He finished tied for seventh at last season?s NCAA Championships, and advanced to match play at the U.S. Amateur, Western Amateur and North & South Amateur. He was recently named to the All-ACC team.

Stanley joins D.J.  Trahan (2002) as the second Clemson golfer to win the Hogan.

Chesapeake (NYSE: CHK) is the largest independent producer of clean-burning natural gas in the United States and is the most active driller in Texas. The company was recently recognized as the ?Best Managed Energy Company? by Forbes and one of the ?Top 100 Places to Work? by Fortune.

The Golf Coaches Association of America

GCAA National Office

1225 West Main Street
Suite 110
Norman, OK 73069

Phone: (405) 329-4222
Fax: (405) 573-7888

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.