Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Wednesday, Feb. 20, 2008

Watch List Announced for The Ben Hogan Award presented by Chesapeake Energy
Honor recognizes top amateur player in college golf

NORMAN, Okla. ?  Chesepeake Energy, in association with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA), has announced the watch list for the 2008 The Ben Hogan Award.  The most prestigious award in men?s college golf, The Hogan is presented annually to the top men?s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

Returning PING First-Team All-America selections Billy Horschel of Florida, Southern California?s Jamie Lovemark and Kyle Stanley of Clemson, British Amateur champion Drew Weaver of Virginia Tech  and Walker Cup participants Rickie Fowler of Oklahoma State and Wake Forest?s Webb Simpson highlight the list.  Others on the 24 player watch list include Florida State?s Jonas Blixt, Ryan Brehm of Michigan State, UCLA?s Kevin Chappell and Lucas Lee, Jonas Enander Hedin and Stefan Wiedergruen of Charlotte, Georgia?s Harris English and Brian Harman, Derek Fathauer of Louisville, Stanford?s Rob Grube, Chesson Hadley and Cameron Tringale of Georgia Tech, UNLV?s Seung-su Han, Mark Harrell and Michael Thompson of Alabama, Minnesota?s Clayton Rask, Joel Sjoholm of Georgia State and Sonoma State?s Jarin Todd.

The Hogan Award semifinalists will be announced April 16. Three finalists named on May 7 will be invited to Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, for the Hogan Award presentation on the evening of May 18. The 1964 U.S. Open winner and former CBS golf analyst Ken Venturi will be the keynote speaker.

Chesapeake (NYSE: CHK) is the largest independent producer of clean-burning natural gas in the United States and is the most active driller in Texas. The company was recently recognized as the ?Best Managed Energy Company? by Forbes and one of the ?Top 100 Places to Work? by Fortune.

A limited number of corporate tables and individual tickets are available for the Hogan Banquet. For more information, contact Colonial at (817) 840-2219.

2008 The Ben Hogan Award Watch List
(in alphabetical order)

Jonas Blixt, Florida State
Ryan Brehm, Michigan State
Kevin Chappell, UCLA
Jonas Enander Hedin, Charlotte
Harris English, Georgia
Derek Fathauer, Louisville
Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State
Rob Grube, Stanford
Chesson Hadley, Georgia Tech
Seung-su Han, UNLV
Brian Harman, Georgia
Mark Harrell, Alabama
Billy Horschel, Florida
Lucas Lee, UCLA
Jamie Lovemark, Southern California
Clayton Rask, Minnesota
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Joel Sjoholm, Georgia State
Kyle Stanley, Clemson
Michael Thompson, Alabama
Jarin Todd, Sonoma State
Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech
Drew Weaver, Virginia Tech
Stefan Wiedergruen, Charlotte