Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



McArthur Receives Outback Steakhouse Palmer Award

McArthur Receives Outback Steakhouse Palmer Award
Pfieffer star fires nine-under-par 279 to earn NCAA medallist honors

SUNRIVER, Ore. ? Andrew McArthur of Pfeiffer claimed medallist honors at the 2003 NCAA Division II Golf National Championships at Crosswater Golf Club in Sunriver, Ore. As a result of his victory, McArthur has been named the recipient of the Outback Steakhouse Arnold Palmer Award.

After shooting par during round one, McArthur carded three-straight 69s to finish at nine-under par 279. McArthur was two strokes back at the beginning of the final round before claiming a two-shot victory. He was the only golfer in the championship field to claim three sub-70 rounds.

The Outback Steakhouse Arnold Palmer Award is presented annually to the individual medallists in the Division I, II and III men?s golf national championships. Established in 1992, the award is named for legendary golf professional Arnold Palmer, who was the individual collegiate medallist as a member of the Wake Forest University golf team in 1949 and 1950. It has become one of the most recognized and sought after honors in collegiate men?s golf. Past recipients include PGA TOUR stars Phil Mickelson (Arizona State 1992), Justin Leonard (Texas, 1994), Tiger Woods (Stanford, 1996) and Charles Howell III (Oklahoma State, 2000).