Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Semifinalists Named for The Ben Hogan Award




Thursday, March 24, 2005


Semifinalists Named for The Ben Hogan Award

Top 10 amateur players in college golf recognized 

NORMAN, Okla. ? Bank of America, in cooperation with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA), has announced the 10 semifinalists for The 2005 The Ben Hogan Award. The most prestigious award in men?s college golf, The Hogan is presented annually to the top men?s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

The semifinalists include former NCAA medalist Alejandro Ca?izares of Arizona State; East Tennessee State?s Rhys Davies; U.S. Open low amateur Spencer Levin of New Mexico; Oklahoma State?s Pablo Martin; U.S. Amateur, U.S. Public Links and NCAA Champion Ryan Moore of UNLV; Indiana?s Jeff Overton; Aron Price of Georgia Southern; Pepperdine?s Michael Putnam; Matthew Rosenfeld of Texas; and Georgia Tech?s Nicholas Thompson.

The Hogan Award selection committee will announce three finalists on April 20. The three finalists will attend The Hogan Award banquet on Saturday, May 14 at Colonial Country Club ? the Saturday prior to the Bank of America Colonial - with the recipient announced that evening.

2005 The Ben Hogan Semifinalists
(in alphabetical order)
Alejandro Ca?izares, Arizona State
Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State
Spencer Levin, New Mexico
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State
Ryan Moore, UNLV
Jeff Overton, Indiana
Aron Price, Georgia Southern
Michael Putnam, Pepperdine
Matthew Rosenfeld, Texas
Nicholas Thompson, Georgia Tech