Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Chappell Wins Jack Nicklaus Award

Monday, June 2, 2008

Chappell Wins Nicklaus Award
Recognized as Division I player of the year

NORMAN, Okla. ?  Kevin Chappell of UCLA was named the Division I winner of the Jack Nicklaus Award. The Nicklaus Award is presented annually to the national player of the year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III and the NAIA.

Chappell earned medalist honors three times this season - the NCAA Division I Men?s Championships, the Pac-10 Men?s Golf Championship and the PING Arizona Intercollegiate. Her recorded four other top five finishes and only placed outside of the top 10 twice in 12 stroke-play events during the 2007-08 campaign. Chappell also recorded a 4-0 record at the Callaway Golf Collegiate Match Play Championship. In addition to his individual NCAA title - the first for a Bruin men?s golfer,  he helped lead UCLA to the team championship.

Chappell joined Sam Cyr of Point Loma Nazarene (NAIA), St. John Fisher?s Scott Harris Jr. (Division III) and Jarin Todd of Sonoma State (Division II) at the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Morgan Stanley at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, just outside of Nicklaus? hometown of Columbus, to receive their trophies from Mr. Nicklaus.