Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America




Ryan is a professional golfer from Puyallup, WA, who is currently playing on the PGA Tour. Coming up the ranks, he has reached the pinnacle of each echelon, from world’s #1 ranked junior golfer in 2001, to being the top collegiate player in the nation, as well as top Amateur in the nation in 2004, to his breakthrough victory on the PGA Tour at the Wyndham Championship in 2009 and his follow up win at the 2012 Justin Timberlake Shriners Hospitals for Children Open.  He finished a career-best No. 11 in the final 2012 FedExCup standings with eight Top 10 finishes over the course of the season.

Ryan may still be most famous for his record breaking amateur season in 04′ where he seized five titles in one summer (including the US Amateur, US Publinks, NCAA Championship, Western Am, and World Am Titles). Many golf experts claim this is the greatest feat by an Amateur golfer in the modern era, dating back to, and only rivaled by the late Bobby Jones himself. In Ryan’s senior year at UNLV, he competed in nine college events, winning three times and finishing third in three others.

He never finished lower than sixth place in any of the tournaments he played in.  Moore also capped his final year with a fifth-place finish at the 2005 NCAA Championship, an event he won in 2004. His 28-round scoring average of 69.29 was tops in the nation and set the UNLV seasonal record. For his college career, he played in 136 rounds and turned in a scoring average of 70.76. He also placed 13th at the 2005 Masters, earning him low amateur honors and a return trip to Augusta in 2006.  Moore’s incredible senior season was rewarded with the recognition of winning every major player of the year honor that is given out in collegiate golf - the Ben Hogan Award, the Nicklaus Award and the Haskins Award. Moore became just the second UNLV student-athlete to win his respective sport’s national player of the year award - the first was men’s basketball’s Larry Johnson in 1991.