Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



2003 Hogan Award :: Semifinalists

Hogan Semifinalists Announced
Award honors top amateur in college golf

NORMAN, Okla. ? Bank of America in cooperation with The Friends of Golf (FOG), Colonial Country Club and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA), has announced the 11 semifinalist for the 2003 Ben Hogan Award. The Hogan is presented annually to the top men?s NCAA Division I, II or III or NAIA golfer, taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

Semifinalists include Arizona's Ricky Barnes, Dustin Bray of North Carolina, Bill Haas of Wake Forest, Oklahoma State's Hunter Mahan, UNLV's Ryan Moore, Chris Nallen of Arizona, TCU's Adam Rubinson, D.J. Trahan of Clemson, NC State's Justin Walters, Nick Watney of Fresno State and Augusta State's Oliver Wilson. Barnes, Bray, Haas, Mahan, Moore and Rubinson have also been selected by the GCAA to represent the United States in the 2003 Palmer Cup.

The Hogan Award selection committee will name five finalists on April 25. The winner of the Hogan Award will be announced on May 9 and the presentation banquet will be held at Colonial Country Club on May 19, the Monday prior to the Bank of America Colonial.

2003 Ben Hogan Semifinalists
(in alphabetical order)
Ricky Barnes, Arizona
Dustin Bray, North Carolina
Bill Haas, Wake Forest
Hunter Mahan, Oklahoma State
Ryan Moore, UNLV
Chris Nallen, Arizona
Adam Rubinson, TCU
D.J. Trahan, Clemson
Justin Walters, NC State
Nick Watney, Fresno State
Oliver Wilson, Augusta State