Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Jakovac Wins Nicklaus, Palmer Awards

Jakovac Wins Nicklaus, Palmer Awards
Mickelson and PING All-America First Team recipients also named

DELAND, Fla. ? Chico State?s J.J. Jakovac won the Jack Nicklaus Award presented by Dillard?s, Inc. and Hartmarx Corporation and the Outback Steakhouse Arnold Palmer Award and earned PING All-America First Team honors following the final round of the NCAA Division II Championships announced the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

A senior from Napa, Calif., Jakovac claimed medalist honors at the national championship to earn the Palmer. The Nicklaus is awarded to the outstanding college golfer, an award Jakovac earned with four victories, eight top five finishes and 11 top 10 finishes in 12 tournaments. Of his 37 rounds this season, 28 were par or better.

Andrea Signor of West Florida was named recipient of the Phil Mickelson Award, which is presented to the outstanding freshman golfer in Division II. Signor claimed medalist honors twice this season. Additionally, he finished in the top five four times and the top 10 on six occasions.

The PING All-America first team consisted of Luke Antonelli of St Mary?s (Texas), Barton?s Courtney Faircloth, Jakovac, Nick Mason of Hawaii-Hilo, St. Martin?s Shane Prante, Brett Swedberg of St. Cloud State, Ryan Thornberry of Cal. State-Stanislaus and Armstrong Atlantic State?s Thomas Whittaker.