The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



  • Home
  • News
  • Four Coaches Slated for Induction into GCAA Hall of Fame

Four Coaches Slated for Induction into GCAA Hall of Fame

Posted Tuesday, Nov. 2, 2004

Four Coaches Slated for Induction into GCAA Hall of Fame
Blackmon, Simpson, Sundstrom and Twiggs to be honored in ceremony on Jan. 12

NORMAN, Okla. ? Puggy Blackmon of South Carolina, Colorado?s Mark Simpson, former Allegheny golf coach Norm Sundstrom and Eddie Twiggs, coach of Stanford from 1932-47, have been selected for induction into the Golf Coaches Association of America Hall of Fame. Induction ceremonies will take place Wednesday, Jan. 12, 2005, at the GCAA Hall of Fame Reception and Awards Banquet in New Orleans, La.

Blackmon began his coaching career at Georgia Tech in 1983 and served as the Yellow Jackets head coach until accepting the same position at South Carolina in 1995. His teams have earned 20 consecutive postseason appearances, advanced to the NCAA Championships 17 times and finished in the top 10 on six occasions. While at Georgia Tech, Blackmon won five ACC championships and the NCAA East Regional in 1991. Two of his players - David Duval and Stewart Cink - were honored with the Jack Nicklaus Award, which is presented to the college player of the year. Golfers under Blackmon have earned PING All-America honors 30 times. He has also coached nine Cleveland Golf All-America Scholars, 17 All-ACC selections, 13 All-SEC team members, three ACC Players of the Year and one SEC Champion. Blackmon was named ACC Coach of the Year four times and Region Coach of the Year in 1991. Golfers coached by Blackmon who have played on the PGA Tour include Duval, Cink, Briny Baird, Tripp Isenhour, Charlie Rymer, Jimmy Johnson, Michael Clark II, David Seawell, Tom Shaw and Kyle Thompson.

In his 28th year at Colorado, Simpson has led the Buffs to 15 NCAA appearances. He was named the Big 12 Co-Coach of the Year in 2000 and earned conference and district honors in 1981. Under Simpson?s tutelage, Colorado has produced six different All-Americans who combined for 12 accolades, in addition to the 10 All-Big Eight and three All-Big 12 golfers and 15 All-America Scholars. A former past president of the GCAA, Simpson just ended an eight-year term on the association?s National Advisory Board. He also served on the NCAA Men?s Golf Committee. Simpson was selected to coach the American team in the U.S. vs. Japan Collegiate Golf Championship and has served as Team USA assistant coach at the Palmer Cup three times. He has also served as tournament director at the last two Palmer Cups. Simpson?s former players Rick Cramer, Steve Jones, Jonathan Kaye and Tom Woodard have all competed on the PGA Tour. In 2004, the Colorado Golf Hall of Fame recognized Simpson for his contributions to the sport and honored him with its distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award.

Coach at Allegheny College from 1970-1997, Sundstrom led squads made 21 straight NCAA appearances - more than any coach in the history of Division III men?s golf at the time of his retirement in 1997. His best season came in 1983 when he won the Division III national title, earning him National Coach of the Year honors. Sundstrom?s team?s finished in the top 10 at nationals 15 times, including nine top-five finishes. He also claimed 14 conference championships and over fifty tournaments during his coaching tenure. Sundstrom won conference coach of the year honors 14 times and was named district coach of the year on nine occasions. He coached 21 Division III All-Americans. Sundstrom has previously been inducted into the Allegheny College Athletic Hall of Fame.

Head coach from 1932-47, Twiggs led Stanford to five national titles during his 15-year career. Under his guidance, Stanford won seven of nine Southern Division titles in the Pacific Coast Conference. In addition, Twiggs directed the school to three Pacific Coast Intercollegiate Golf Association titles. Four Stanford golfers won conference titles during his tenure.

In 1980, the GCAA began inducting outstanding college golf coaches into the Hall of Fame. To be selected to the Hall of Fame, a coach must be nominated by his peers, and then selected by the GCAA Hall of Fame Committee. Selection criteria not only include a coach?s record on the golf course, but his contributions to the game, student-athletes and school.

The Golf Coaches Association of America

GCAA National Office

1225 West Main Street
Suite 110
Norman, OK 73069

Phone: (405) 329-4222
Fax: (405) 573-7888

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.