Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Watch List Announced for 2005 The Ben Hogan Award

Posted Thursday, Feb. 17, 2005

Watch List Announced for 2005 The Ben Hogan Award

Honor recognizes top amateur player in college golf


NORMAN, Okla. ? Bank of America, in cooperation with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA), has announced the watch list for The 2005 The Ben Hogan Award. The most prestigious award in men?s college golf, The Hogan is presented annually to the top men?s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

NCAA, U.S. Amateur and Public Links Champion Ryan Moore of UNLV, U.S. Open Championship low amateur Spencer Levin of New Mexico as well as 2004 PING All-America First-Team selections Matt Every of Florida, Kentucky?s John Holmes and Shane Prante of St. Martin?s, highlight the watch list.  Others on the 20 player watch list include Cal Poly?s Travis Bertoni, Ryan Blaum of Duke, Rhys Davies of East Tennessee State, Clemson?s Jack Ferguson, Anthony Kim of Oklahoma, Vanderbilt?s Luke List, Pablo Martin of Oklahoma State, Indiana?s Jeff Overton, Aron Price of Georgia Southern, Pepperdine?s Michael Putnam, Matthew Rosenfeld of Texas, Wake Forest?s Webb Simpson, Nicholas Thompson of Georgia Tech, North Carolina?s Martin Ureta and Lee Williams of Auburn.

The Hogan Award selection committee will announce 10 semi-finalists on March 24 and name three finalists on April 20. The three finalists will be invited to The Hogan Award banquet on Saturday, May 14 at Colonial Country Club ? the Saturday prior to the Bank of America Colonial - with the recipient announced that evening.


2005 The Ben Hogan Award Watch List

(in alphabetical order)
Travis Bertoni, Cal Poly
Ryan Blaum, Duke
Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State
Matt Every, Florida
Jack Ferguson, Clemson
John Holmes, Kentucky
Anthony Kim, Oklahoma
Spencer Levin, New Mexico
Luke List, Vanderbilt
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State
Ryan Moore, UNLV
Jeff Overton, Indiana
Shane Prante, St. Martin?s
Aron Price, Georgia Southern
Michael Putnam, Pepperdine
Matthew Rosenfeld, Texas
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Nicholas Thompson, Georgia Tech
Martin Ureta, North Carolina
Lee Williams, Auburn