Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



GCAA Announces 2012 Team Academic Awards presented by Farmers Insurance


NORMAN, Okla. – DePaul (Division I), Post (Division II), Manhattanville (Division III), Bethel College (Kan.) (NAIA), Dodge City CC (NJCAA DI) and South Mountain CC (NJCAA DII) have been named Academic National Champions for their respective division announced the GCAA. DePaul posted the highest overall team GPA for all divisions with a 3.69.

This marks the third straight year DePaul has had the highest team GPA in men’s college golf. A total of 125 teams submitted GPAs of 3.00 or higher to earn All-Academic Team recognition.

“I thought last year when they won back to back was quite an accomplishment, but to three-peat is unbelievable,” said DePaul Head Coach Betty Kaufmann. “This is a phenomenal group of young men that have bought into both excelling academically and athletically as a team.  There are so many good student athletes at so many great Universities, but to win this is a true team effort. They are a great group of young men and I am so proud of their efforts.  I can’t thank the GCAA and Farmers enough for sponsoring the award so our student-athletes get recognized for their hard work and academic achievements.”

Like DePaul in Division I, South Mountain CC has also won three straight Academic National Championships in NJCAA DII.  This is the first win for Bethel College, Dodge City, Manhattanville and Post.

Arkansas, Brown, Canisius, Harvard, Kennesaw State, Tennessee, Troy, Utah Valley, Valparaiso, William & Mary and Yale also received President’s Special Recognition status for having team GPAs of 3.5 or better.

To be eligible for GCAA All-Academic Team honors a college or university must submit the GPAs for each player on its official squad list for the academic year.

“Farmers Insurance is proud to extend our support of education and University Day throughout the year,” said Chuck Browning, Head of Sponsorships for Farmers Insurance.  “It is a perfect fit for us – it is an opportunity for our agents around the country to get involved with our golf platform and academic institutions on a local level and we are proud to honor top performing academic men’s golf programs in the country.”

Farmers Insurance Group of Companies is a leading U.S. insurer of automobiles, homes and small businesses and also provides a wide range of other insurance and financial services products.  Farmers Insurance is proud to serve more than 10 million households with more than 20 million individual policies across all 50 states through the efforts of over 50,000 exclusive and independent agents and nearly 24,000 employees.

Farmers is a trade name and may refer to Farmers Group, Inc. or the Farmers Exchanges, as the case may be.  Farmers Group, Inc., a management and holding company, along with its subsidiaries, is wholly owned by the Zurich Insurance Group Ltd. The Farmers Exchanges are three reciprocal insurers (Farmers Insurance Exchange, Fire Insurance Exchange and Truck Insurance Exchange), including their subsidiaries and affiliates, owned by their policyholders, and managed by Farmers Group, Inc. and its subsidiaries. For more information about Farmers, visit its Web site at or at

Academic National Champions

  • Division I - DePaul
  • Division II - Post
  • Division III - Manhattanville
  • NAIA - Bethel College (Kan.)
  • NJCAA DI - Dodge City CC
  • NJCAA DII - South Mountain CC

President’s Special Recognition

(3.5 or better GPA)

Division I

  • Arkansas
  • Brown
  • Canisius
  • Harvard
  • Kennesaw State
  • Tennessee
  • Troy
  • Utah Valley State
  • Valparaiso
  • William & Mary
  • Yale

Division II

  • Post


  • Bethel College (Kan.)

All-Academic Teams

(3.0 or better GPA)

 Division I

  • Akron
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Auburn
  • Baylor
  • Belmont
  • Brown
  • Butler
  • California
  • Canisius
  • Coastal Carolina
  • Denver
  • DePaul
  • Detroit Mercy
  • Duke
  • East Carolina
  • East Tennessee State
  • Evansville
  • Georgia Tech
  • Gonzaga
  • Harvard
  • Houston Baptist
  • Illinois
  • Kansas
  • Kansas State
  • Kennesaw State
  • Longwood
  • Louisville
  • Loyola University Maryland
  • Marquette
  • Marshall
  • Maryland Eastern Shore
  • Mercer 
  • Middle Tennessee State
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • New Mexico State
  • Northern Colorado
  • Northwestern
  • Notre Dame
  • Oklahoma
  • Purdue
  • Rice
  • Richmond
  • Seattle
  • South Alabama
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota State
  • Southern Illinois Edwardsville
  • Southern Methodist
  • St. Mary’s College of California
  • Stanford
  • TCU
  • Tennessee
  • Troy
  • UCLA
  • UNC Charlotte
  • UNCG
  • UNCW
  • Utah Valley
  • UTSA
  • Valparaiso
  • Vanderbilt
  • Virginia Tech
  • William & Mary
  • Wofford
  • Wyoming
  • Yale

Division II

  • Barry
  • Bellarmine
  • Bentley
  • Coker
  • Ferris State
  • Lynn
  • Maryville (St. Louis)
  • Nova Southeastern
  • Ohio Dominican
  • Post
  • Southwestern Oklahoma State
  • Upper Iowa
  • USC Aiken
  • West Florida

Division III

  • Albion
  • Carnegie Mellon
  • Emory
  • Gettysburg
  • Greensboro
  • Grinnell
  • Hope
  • Johnson & Wales
  • Luther
  • Manhattanville
  • Milwaukee School of Engineering
  • Occidental
  • Oglethorpe
  • Ohio Wesleyan
  • Piedmont
  • Redlands
  • Southwestern
  • St. John’s
  • St. Thomas
  • Stevens Institute of Technology
  • Stevenson
  • Transylvania
  • Trinity College (Conn.)
  • Wabash
  • Wartburg
  • Webster
  • Wheaton


  • Bethany
  • Bethel College (Kan.)
  • Carroll College
  • Central Methodist
  • Cumberlands
  • Embry Riddle Aeronautical University – Prescott
  • Northwood (Florida)
  • Northwood (Texas)
  • Oklahoma Christian
  • SCAD Atlanta
  • St. Ambrose
  • The Master’s College


  • Dodge City CC


  • Black Hawk College
  • South Mountain CC