The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



  • Home
  • News
  • Watch List Announced for 2006 The Ben Hogan Award

Watch List Announced for 2006 The Ben Hogan Award



Posted Wednesday, March 1, 2006



Watch List Announced for 2006 The Ben Hogan Award

Honor recognizes top amateur player in college golf 

NORMAN, Okla. ? Bank of America, in cooperation with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA), has announced the watch list for the 2006 The Ben Hogan Award. The most prestigious award in men?s college golf, The Hogan is presented annually to the top men?s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

Returning PING First-Team All-America selections Ryan Blaum of Duke, Arizona State?s Alejandro Ca?izares, Roberto Castro of Georgia Tech, East Tennessee State?s Rhys Davies, Matt Every of Florida, Oklahoma?s Anthony Kim, James Lepp of Washington and Oklahoma State?s Pablo Martin highlight the list. Others on the 27 player watch list include Scott Brown and Dane Burkhart - defending NCAA Division II national champion - of South Carolina-Aiken, Jay Choi of New Mexico, U.S. Amateur runner-up Dillon Dougherty of Northwestern, Texas Tech?s Oscar Floren, Erik Flores of UCLA, UNLV?s Andres Gonzales, Jake Grodzinsky of Duke, Stanford?s Rob Grube, Brian Harman - the nation?s top-ranked amateur - and Chris Kirk of Georgia, Coastal Carolina?s Dustin Johnson, Kevin Larsen of Georgia Tech, Vanderbilt?s Luke List, U.S. Public Links champion Clay Ogden of BYU, Kyle Reifers and Webb Simpson of Wake Forest and North Carolina?s Martin Ureta.

The Hogan Award selection committee will announce 10 semi-finalists on March 29 and name three finalists on May 2. The three finalists will attend The Hogan Award banquet on Saturday, May 13 at Colonial Country Club ? the Saturday prior to the Bank of America Colonial - with the recipient announced that evening.

2006 The Ben Hogan Award Watch List
(in alphabetical order)

Ryan Blaum, Duke
Scott Brown, South Carolina-Aiken
Dane Burkhart, South Carolina-Aiken
Alejandro Ca?izares, Arizona State
Roberto Castro, Georgia Tech
Jay Choi, New Mexico
Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State
Dillon Dougherty, Northwestern
Matt Every, Florida
Oscar Floren, Texas Tech
Erik Flores, UCLA
Andres Gonzales, UNLV
Jake Grodzinsky, Duke
Rob Grube, Stanford
Brian Harman, Georgia
Dustin Johnson, Coastal Carolina
Anthony Kim, Oklahoma
Chris Kirk, Georgia
Kevin Larsen Georgia Tech
James Lepp, Washington
Luke List, Vanderbilt
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State
Clay Ogden, Brigham Young
Kyle Reifers, Wake Forest
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Martin Ureta, North Carolina

The Golf Coaches Association of America

GCAA National Office

1225 West Main Street
Suite 110
Norman, OK 73069

Phone: (405) 329-4222
Fax: (405) 573-7888

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.