Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



The Ben Hogan Award Semifinalists Announced



Posted Wednesday, March 29, 2006


The Ben Hogan Award Semifinalists Announced

Golfers are 10 candidates for top honor in men?s collegiate golf 

NORMAN, Okla. ? Bank of America, in cooperation with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA), has announced the 10 semifinalists for The 2006 The Ben Hogan Award. The most prestigious award in men?s college golf, The Hogan is presented annually to the top men?s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.


Semifinalists include returning PING First-Team All-America selections Roberto Castro of Georgia Tech, East Tennessee State?s Rhys Davies, Matt Every of Florida, Oklahoma Anthony Kim and Pablo Martin of Oklahoma State. Baylor?s Ryan Baca, Andres Gonzales of UNLV, Brian Harman and Chris Kirk of Georgia and Wake Forest?s Kyle Reifers were also named semifnalists.


The Hogan Award selection committee will name the honor?s three finalists on May 2. The three finalists will attend The Hogan Award banquet on Saturday, May 13 at Colonial Country Club ? the Saturday prior to the Bank of America Colonial - with the recipient announced that evening.

2006 The Ben Hogan Semifinalists

(in alphabetical order)

Ryan Baca, Baylor
Roberto Castro, Georgia Tech
Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State
Matt Every, Florida
Andres Gonzales, UNLV
Brian Harman, Georgia
Anthony Kim, Oklahoma
Chris Kirk, Georgia
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State
Kyle Reifers, Wake Forest <