Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



ARNOLD PALMER AWARD Presented by CALLAWAY GOLF Recipients Named in Division II and NAIA

ARNOLD PALMER AWARD Presented by CALLAWAY GOLF Recipients Named in Division II and NAIA
St. Mary?s Amoretti and Point Loma?s Prince earn honor

OLATHE, Kan. ? Jamie Amoretti of St. Mary?s (Texas) and Point Loma?s Joe Prince claimed the ARNOLD PALMER AWARD presented by CALLAWAY GOLF for Division II and NAIA, respectively. The Palmer Award is presented annually to the national championship individual medalists.

Amoretti won the award by defeating last season?s Division II Palmer recipient - Dane Burkhart of South Carolina-Aiken - by one shot. Amoretti and Burkhart entered the day tied for the top spot. Amoretti was the only player in the field to finish at even par.

Prince claimed the honor with a one-stroke victory over Todd Halpen of Victoria in the NAIA National Championships. Prince led throughout most of the tournament, but temporarily lost the lead to Halpen in the middle of the last round. He recovered however, and was strong down the stretch to take home the award.

"Callaway Golf embodies innovation, passion and boldness as a leader within the golf industry," said Nick Raffaele, Vice President Sports Marketing at Callaway Golf Company. "Mr. Palmer has exhibited these and many other positive traits during a lifetime of achievement on and off the golf course. We are honored to be associated with him and to have our name linked with his on the award given to the individual medalists of this outstanding golf competition. Without doubt, those who emerge as medalists will have demonstrated that they possess these same attributes when they take home the Arnold Palmer Award presented by Callaway Golf."

Notable past recipients of the award include Phil Mickelson (1992), Justin Leonard (1994), Tiger Woods (1996), Charles Howell (2000) and Ryan Moore (2005).



Jamie Amoretti from St. Mary's (Texas) claimed the Division II ARNOLD PALMER AWARD presented by CALLAWAY GOLF.