Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Watch List Announced for 2007 The Ben Hogan Award

Wednesday, October 25, 2006 


Watch List Announced for 2007 The Ben Hogan Award

Honor recognizes top amateur player in college golf

 NORMAN, Okla. - Colonial Country Club and The Friends of Golf (FOG) in cooperation with the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) has announced the watch list for the 2007 The Ben Hogan Award.  The most prestigious award in men's college golf, The Hogan is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

 Returning PING First-Team All-America selections Rhys Davies of East Tennessee State, Texas Tech?s Oscar Floren, Billy Horschel of Florida, Coastal Carolina?s Dustin Johnson, Chris Kirk of Georgia and Oklahoma State?s Pablo Martin and Jonathan Moore highlight the list.  Others on the 23 player watch list include Charlie Beljan of New Mexico, Louisville?s Derek Fathauer, Erik Flores of UCLA, UNLV?s Seung-su Han, Brian Harman of Georgia, SMU?s Colt Knost, Bronson La?Cassie of Minnesota, Arizona State?s Niklas Lemke, Jamie Lovemark of Southern California, Stanford?s Zack Miller, Alex Prugh of Washington, Wake Forest?s Webb Simpson, Kyle Stanley of Clemson, Georgia Tech?s Cameron Tringale, Dawie Van Der Walt of Lamar and Kansas? Gary Woodland.

The Hogan Award selection committee will announce 10 semi-finalists on April 4 and name three finalists on May 2.  The three finalists will attend The Hogan Award banquet on May 22 at Colonial Country Club ? the Tuesday prior to the Crowne Plaza  Invitational at Colonial - with the recipient announced that evening.


2007 The Ben Hogan Award Watch List

(in alphabetical order)



Charlie Beljan, New Mexico

Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State

Derek Fathauer, Louisville

Oscar Floren, Texas Tech

Erik Flores, UCLA

Seung-su Han, UNLV

Brian Harman, Georgia

Billy Horschel, Florida

Dustin Johnson, Coastal Carolina

Chris Kirk, Georgia

Colt Knost, SMU

Bronson La?Cassie, Minnesota

Niklas Lemke, Arizona State

Jamie Lovemark, Southern California

Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State

Zack Miller, Stanford

Jonathan Moore, Oklahoma State

Alex Prugh, Washington

Webb Simpson, Wake Forest

Kyle Stanley, Clemson

Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech

Dawie Van Der Walt, Lamar

Gary Woodland, Kansas