The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



  • Home
  • News
  • Page Wins Labron Harris Sr. Award Presented by E-Z-GO

Page Wins Labron Harris Sr. Award Presented by E-Z-GO

Page Wins Labron Harris Sr. Award Presented by E-Z-GO
Kent State director of golf recipient of honor presented to coach and PGA Professional

NORMAN, Okla. - Herb Page - Kent State director of golf and head men?s golf coach and member of the Northern Ohio PGA Section - has been named the recipient of the Labron Harris Sr. Award presented by  E-Z-GO in cooperaton with The PGA of America and the Golf Coaches Association of America. The Harris Award is presented to the college or high school coach and PGA Professional whose support of the game through teaching, coaching and involvement in the community has helped ensure the continued growth of the Game and represents the finest qualities the game has to offer.
    ?What a tremendous honor just to be nominated for this award,? said Page. ?Now to join the likes of Rod Myers at Duke, Devon Brouse at Purdue and Jay Hardwick at Virginia Tech (as recipients) leaves me speechless. Add to the fact that Labron Harris was one of the greatest coaches of all time and it makes the award even more special. As a member of the PGA of America and a college golf coach, this award has a very special meaning to me.?
    Page has spent 30 years as the mentor of the men?s golf team at Kent State. He coached 2003 British Open Champion Ben Curtis and Kent State?s first first-team All-American and PGA Tour member Jon Mills. The Flashes have qualified for NCAA regional competition in 16 of the last 19 seasons and have advanced to the NCAA finals nine times during that span. In 1993 the Flashes captured their first-ever NCAA Regional title before tying for the regional championship in 2001. Page has led the Golden Flashes to 62 tournament titles, including 13 MAC championships. in his tenure with Kent State, Page has coached 68 All-MAC golfers, 17 All-Americans, 16 All-America Scholars and has been named District IV Coach of the Year seven times and MAC Coach of the Year on 15 occasions.
    The active Page served as chairman of the NCAA District IV Advisory Committee in the late 1980s and during the 2000-01 season. He is also on his third term on the GCAA All-America Committee. Page oversaw the development of Kent State?s newly completed state-of-the-art Ferrara & Page Golf Training & Learning Center. He has been named the Northern Ohio PGA Merchandiser of the Year four times.
    A 2004 inductee into the GCAA Hall of Fame, Page has also been inducted to Northern Ohio PGA Hall of Fame, Ohio Golf Hall of Fame, Kent State?s Varsity ?K? Alumni Association?s Athletic Hall of Fame and the Portage County Sports Hall of Fame. He is a recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Northern Ohio PGA, the Special Achievement Award by Kent State and the Dapper Dan Association of Akron?s William Falor Lifetime Achievement Award.
    ?On behalf of E-Z-GO and its employees worldwide, I congratulate Herb Page for contributions to the Game and continued commitment to both college golf and the Northern Ohio PGA Section,? said Kevin Holleran, President of E-Z-GO. ?From his efforts to continue to build the Kent State program, work with the Northern Ohio Section and continued service to college golf, Herb has dedicated his life to the Game. E-Z-GO is again proud to be associated with an award that honors those that continue to give back to golf.?
    E-Z-GO, a Textron Company, is a leading manufacturer of golf cars and utility vehicles. E-Z-GO is the preferred golf car fleet provider for seven of the top 10 of America?s 100 Greatest Golf Courses as ranked by Golf Digest. E-Z-GO is also the golf car of choice of nine of the nation?s 10 largest course-management companies. E-Z-GO boasts the largest sales and service network in the industry, with more factory branch locations and independent distributors than any other manufacturer.

The Golf Coaches Association of America

GCAA National Office

1225 West Main Street
Suite 110
Norman, OK 73069

Phone: (405) 329-4222
Fax: (405) 573-7888

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.