Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Jack Nicklaus Award Watch Lists Announced


Tuesday, April 8, 2008

Jack Nicklaus Award Watch Lists Announced
Honor recognizes top amateur player in college golf

NORMAN, Okla. ?  The Golf Coaches Association of America has announced the watch lists for the 2008 Jack Nicklaus Award.  The Nicklaus Award is presented to the Player of the Year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III, as well as the NAIA.

Jamie Lovemark of Southern California and Sonoma State?s Jarin Todd - the 2007 Nicklaus Award recipients in Divisions I and II, respectively - will look to claim honors for the second-straight season. The watch lists are also highlighted by returning PING First-Team All-America selections Matthew Galloway of West Florida, Columbus State?s Andrew Georgiou and CSU-Stanislaus? Eric Justesen in Division II; Rizal Amin of LaVerne, Washington & Lee?s Nathaniel James and Taylor Urbanski of Oglethorpe of Division III; and the NAIA?s Bruno Buccolo and Rhein Gibson of Oklahoma Christian and Sam Cyr of Point Loma Nazarene.

The Nicklaus Award recipients will be named immediately following the final round of each respective national championship. All four Nicklaus Award honorees will be invited to Muirfield Village for the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Morgan Stanley at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, just outdside Nicklaus? hometown of Columbus to receive their trophies from Mr. Nicklaus. Additionally, a 20-player All-Nicklaus Team - which will include outstanding players from NCAA Divisions I, II and III and the NAIA - will be named June 10.

2008 Jack Nicklaus Award Watch Lists
(in alphabetical order)
Division I
Jonas Blixt, Florida State
Kevin Chappell, UCLA
Jonas Enander Hedin, Charlotte
Derek Fathauer, Louisville
Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State
Aaron Goldberg, San Diego State
Chesson Hadley, Georgia Tech
Rory Hie, Southern California
Russell Henley, Georgia
Siwhan Kim, Stanford
Jamie Lovemark, Southern California
Adam Mitchell, Georgia
Kevin O?Connell, North Carolina
Andrew Putnam, Pepperdine
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Joel Sjoholm, Georgia State
Ryan Spears, Wichita State
Hudson Swafford, Georgia
Matthew Swan, Alabama
Michael Thompson, Alabama

Division II
Roberto Diaz, USC-Aiken
Luis Delgado, Chico State
Judson Eustaquio, Florida Southern
Matthew Galloway, West Florida
Andrew Georgiou, Columbus State
Kyle Hopkins, Sonoma State
Justin Hueber, Indianapolis
Jeff Goff, USC-Aiken
Eric Justesen, CSU-Stanislaus
Jake Koppenberg, WWU
Tobias Rosendahl, West Florida
Kyle Scott, West Florida
Colby Shrum, Central Oklahoma
J.P. Solis, USC-Aiken
Jarin Todd, Sonoma State
Will Wilcox, Clayton State
Brent Witcher, Valdosta State
Chris Wolfe, Armstrong Atlantic State

Division III
Rizal Amin, LaVerne
Matt Bova, Methodist
Nick Bova, Methodist
Josh Cumming, Greensboro
Ross Canavan, Redlands
Chris DeJohn, Skidmore
Scott Harris Jr., St. John Fisher
Nathaniel James, Washington & Lee
Joe Schoolmeesters, Saint John?s
Josh Schrader, Methodist
E.J. Stenftenagel, Redlands
Alex Timmons, Carnegie Mellon
Taylor Urbanski, Oglethorpe
A.J. Vesey, Texas Lutheran
Pete Wendt, UW-Eau Claire

Bruno Buccolo, Oklahoma Christian
Sam Cyr, Point Loma Nazarene
Samuel Del Val, Berry
Mitchell Evanecz, Victoria
Rhein Gibson, Oklahoma Christian
Mitch Hendon, Texas Wesleyan
Clay Parks, Oklahoma City
Cory Renfro, British Columbia
Blake Rowe-Sleeman, British Columbia
David Stewart, British Columbia
Dave Tobon, Johnson & Wales
Jarod Trammell, Berry
Julian Valenciana, Oklahoma City
David Vanegas, Johnson & Wales
Hamilton Wheeler, Southern Nazarene