Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Semifinalist Named for 2008 The Hogan Award presented by Chesapeake Energy

Wednesday, April 16, 2008

Semifinalist Named for 2008 The Hogan Award Presented by Chesapeake Energy
Award honors top amateur in college golf

NORMAN, Okla. ?  Chesapeake Energy, in association with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA), has announced the 10 semifinalists for the 2008 The Ben Hogan Award.  The most prestigious award in men?s college golf, The Hogan is presented annually to the top men?s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

The semifinalists are Jonas Blixt of Florida State, UCLA?s Kevin Chappell, Jonas Enander Hedin of Charlotte, Oklahoma State?s Rickie Fowler, Chesson Hadley of Georgia Tech, Rory Hie and Jamie Lovemark of Southern California, Wake Forest?s Webb Simpson, Joel Sjoholm of Georgia State and Alabama?s Michael Thompson.

The Hogan Award finalists will be announced on May 7 and invited to Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, for the Hogan Award presentation on the evening of May 18. The 1964 U.S. Open winner and former CBS golf analyst Ken Venturi will be the keynote speaker.

Chesapeake (NYSE: CHK) is the largest independent producer of clean-burning natural gas in the United States and is the most active driller in Texas. The company was recently recognized as the ?Best Managed Energy Company? by Forbes and one of the ?Top 100 Places to Work? by Fortune.

A limited number of corporate tables and individual tickets are available for the Hogan Banquet. For more information, contact Colonial at (817) 840-2219.

2008 The Ben Hogan Semifinalists
(in alphabetical order)

Jonas Blixt, Florida State
Kevin Chappell, UCLA
Jonas Enander Hedin, Charlotte
Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State
Chesson Hadley, Georgia Tech
Rory Hie, Southern California
Jamie Lovemark, Southern California
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Joel Sjoholm, Georgia State
Michael Thompson, Alabama