Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Fowler Wins The Ben Hogan Award presented by Chesapeake Energy

Sunday, May 18, 2008

Fowler Wins The Ben Hogan Award Presented by Chesapeake Energy

NORMAN, Okla. ? Chesapeake Energy, in association with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA), has named Rickie Fowler of Oklahoma State recipient for the 2008 The Ben Hogan Award. The most prestigious award in men?s college golf, The Hogan is presented annually to the top men?s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

The Big 12 Player of the Year, Fowler has claimed medalist honors twice this season - the Olympia Fields Illini Invitational and the Big 12 Men?s Championship. He also has a pair of runner-up finishes, two fourth-place showings and has placed no lower than eighth in all but two events in his freshman campaign. The Murrieta, California, native also won this summer?s Sunnehanna Amateur and Players Amateur and advanced to the quarterfinals of the Western Amateur. Additionally, Fowler also won three matches to help Team USA claim a 121/2-111/2 victory in the Walker Cup and has been named to the 2008 Palmer Cup presented by Monster team. Fowler is the first freshman to win the Hogan Award.

Chesapeake (NYSE: CHK) is the largest independent producer of clean-burning natural gas in the United States and is the most active driller in Texas. The company was recently recognized as the ?Best Managed Energy Company? by Forbes and one of the ?Top 100 Places to Work? by Fortune.