Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



All-Nicklaus Honorees Announced

Monday, June 2, 2008

All-Nicklaus Honorees Announced
Players recognized from Division I, II, III and NAIA schools

NORMAN, Okla. ?  The 20 honorees for the inaugural All-Nicklaus Team have been announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America. Players from Division I, II, III and the NAIA were recognized for their outstanding play during the 2007-08 collegiate season.

The All-Nicklaus Team was created this year, and is not only named for history?s greatest player but also a long-time supporter of collegiate and amateur golf. Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champions at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988. The Nicklaus Award is annually given to the top collegiate men?s golfer in Division I, II, III and the NAIA.

The team is highlighted by Nicklaus Award recipients Kevin Chappell of UCLA, Point Loma Nazarene?s Sam Cyr, Scott Harris Jr. of St. John Fisher and Sonoma State?s Jarin Todd. The balance of the All-Nicklaus team is comprised of Jonas Blixt of Florida State, Oklahoma Christian?s Bruno Buccolo, Jorge Campillo of Indiana, Oklahoma State?s Rickie Fowler, Rory Hie and Jamie Lovemark of Southern California, Washington & Lee?s Nathaniel James, Sihwan Kim of Stanford, Boise State?s Troy Merritt, Cory Renfrew of British Columbia, Joe Schoolmeesters of Saint John?s (Minn.), Wake Forest?s Webb Simpson, Joel Sjoholm of Georgia State, Alabama?s Michael Thompson, Brent Witcher of Valdosta State and Armstrong Atlantic State?s Chris Wolfe.

Previously, Chappell, Cyr, Harris and Todd were recognized by Mr. Nicklaus at the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Morgan Stanley at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, just outside of Nicklaus? hometown of Columbus.

2008 All-Nicklaus Team
Jonas Blixt, Florida State
Bruno Buccolo, Oklahoma Christian
Jorge Campillo, Indiana
Kevin Chappell, UCLA
Sam Cyr, Point Loma Nazarene
Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State
Scott Harris Jr., St. John Fisher
Rory Hie, Southern California
Nathaniel James, Washington & Lee
Sihwan Kim, Stanford
Jamie Lovemark, Southern California
Troy Merritt, Boise State
Cory Renfrew, British Columbia
Joe Schoolmeesters, Saint John?s (Minn.)
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Joel Sjoholm, Georgia State
Michael Thompson, Alabama
Jarin Todd, Sonoma State
Brent Witcher, Valdosta State
Chris Wolfe, Armstrong Atlantic State