Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



GCAA Names Seven to Hall of Fame

Tuesday, October 27, 2009

GCAA Names Seven to Hall of Fame


NORMAN, Okla. ?


Boles coached at Alexander City CC - later renamed Central Alabama CC - from 1965-97. He led Central Alabama to national championships in 1990, 1996 and 1997. Boles? teams won 16 regional championships and 12 district championships. A total of 101 of his golfers earned All-America status. Boles also served as USA team coach at the World University Games. Previously, Boles was inducted in the NJCAA and Alabama Sportsman Hall of Fames.

Widely considered the father of the NAIA men?s golf championship, Bounds served as golf coach and a professor at Texas Wesleyan from 1946-85. His teams won national titles in 1964, 1969 and 1975. Additionally, Bounds led TWU to seven runner-up and five third-place finishes at the NAIA Championships. The Rams won district championships in 36 of 39 seasons and claimed 26 conference titles. The 1975 NAIA Coach of the Year, six of Bounds golfers claimed NAIA medalist honors and 33 players were named All-Americans.

Currently coaching at Purdue, Brouse began his career at North Carolina. He led the Tar Heals to 19 NCAA Championship appearances in 21 seasons. He returned to his alma mater as head coach of the men?s and women?s teams and director of golf in 1998. Brouse has led the Boilermakers squads to 14 top-10 finishes at the NCAA Championships and coached five Big Ten Player of the Year honorees. A six-time conference coach of the year (three ACC/three Big Ten), Brouse oversees operations at the Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex and has hosted a men?s and women?s NCAA Championship. Brouse coached 1984 NCAA Champion John Inman and 1998 Ben Hogan Award recipient Mark Wilson. In 2006, he was named recipient of the Labron Harris Sr. Award.

Choate oversees both the Sam Houston State men?s and women?s golf programs, returning to his alma mater to direct the program during the 2007-08 season. He started the men?s golf program at Sam Houston in 1962, directing the Bearkats to four NAIA national championships (1978-91) and nine conference titles. A four-time NAIA Coach of the Year, Choate earned league coach-of-the-year honors 13 times in three conferences. He coached 21 All-Americans. His teams produced conference individual medalist champions 11 times and NAIA national individual champions twice. Choate has been inducted into the SH Hall of Honor.

Loy coached at Scottsdale CC, Arkansas and Arizona State from 1975-92. His teams at Scottsdale won the 1982 and 1983 national junior college championships and won five-straight conference titles and six consecutive regional crowns. Loy also coached two NJCAA medalists. The two-time NJCAA Coach of the Year and eight-time NJCAA Region 8 Coach of the Year, his Scottsdale teams won the last 31 tournaments he coached. Loy arrived in Arkansas in 1983 as the program?s first full-time head coach. He was named Southwest Conference Coach of the Year in 1984. Loy moved to Arizona State in 1987 and was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year in 1989 and 1990. He led the Sun Devils to their first national title in 1990 and also won two Pac-10 titles. Phil Mickelson claimed three NCAA titles and 10 Arizona State golfers earned 20 All-America honors. Currently the CEO of Gaylord Sports, Loy was previously inducted into the Athletic Hall of Honors at Eastern New Mexico, Arizona State Hall of Distinction and NJCAA Hall of Fame.

Poss has served as golf coach at Midland since 1978 and is the only coach in the program?s history. His teams have won four NJCAA national titles (1992, 1995, 2006 and 2008) and qualified for 22 consecutive NJCAA Tournaments. Poss is a three-time NJCAA Coach of the Year and coached Team USA to a gold medal at the World University Games. A total of 39 players have earned All-America honors during his tenure. Poss also spent 18 years as Midland?s athletic director and has served as basketball coach, physical education instructor and president of the Midland College Faculty Senate. Poss has previously been named to the Hardin-Simmons University Athletic Hall of Fame, NJCAA Hall of Fame, Midland College Hall of Fame and Western Junior College Athletic Hall of Fame.

Yale?s first golf coach, Thompson led Bulldog?s from 1926-42. His teams won five NCAA Championships (1926, 1931, 1932, 1933 and 1936) and nine Eastern Intercollegiate conference titles. Thompson compiled a 145-22 career record. He posted four undefeated seasons and eight seasons with only one loss. Thomas Aycock won the individual NCAA Championship under Thompson?s tutelage in 1929.

The Golf Coaches Association of America will induct seven coaches - Maxie Boles, O.D. Bounds, Devon Brouse, Ronnie Choate, Steve Loy, Delnor Poss and Ben Thompson - in its 2009 Hall of Fame Class. The group will be officially honored at the GCAA Hall of Fame Reception and Awards Banquet Monday, Dec. 7 at the Riviera Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas.