Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Ben Hogan Award Announces 2020 Watch List

FORT WORTH, Texas - (Feb. 19, 2020) – Thirty-one of the nation’s most accomplished collegiate golfers have been named to the 2020 Ben Hogan Award watch list, according to a joint announcement made by the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, the Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

The Ben Hogan Award presented by Konica Minolta Business Solutions U.S.A., Inc. (Konica Minolta) is given annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period from June to May.

The 2020 Ben Hogan Award watch list, as determined by the award’s subcommittee, includes: John Augenstein (Vanderbilt), John Axelsen (Florida), Ricky Castillo (Florida), Pierceson Coody (Texas), Quade Cummins (Oklahoma), Cooper Dossey (Baylor), Austin Eckroat (Oklahoma State), Carl Didrik Fosaas (Keiser), Noah Goodwin (SMU), Cole Hammer (Texas), Peter Kuest (BYU), Drew Mathers (Huntingdon), William Mouw (Pepperdine), Vincent Norrman (Georgia Southwestern), Andy Ogletree (Georgia Tech), John Pak (Florida State), Adrien Pendaries (Duke), David Perkins (Illinois State), Trent Phillips (Georgia), Mark Power (Wake Forest), Garrett Reband (Oklahoma), Jovan Rebula (Auburn), Matthias Schmid (Louisville), Sandy Scott (Texas Tech), Luke Schniederjans (Georgia Tech), Tyler Strafaci (Georgia Tech), Sahith Theegala (Pepperdine), Davis Thompson (Georgia), Jack Trent (UNLV), Trevor Werbylo (Arizona) and Chun An Yu (Arizona State).

Just eight players (Cummins, Hammer, Kuest, Phillips, Schmid, Schniederjans, Strafaci and Yu) are repeat members from the 2019 watch list. Two members, Hammer and Yu, were among the award’s 10 semifinalists a year ago.

This year’s list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the watch list, will be unveiled on Wednesday, April 15. That group will be pared down to three finalists in May, and the finalists will attend a black-tie dinner at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, where the winner will be crowned.

The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee votes during each stage of the process. It is comprised of leaders in collegiate, amateur and professional golf. The Ben Hogan Trophy was first issued in 1990 and also included academic achievement in its original list of standards. In 2002, the Ben Hogan Award moved to Fort Worth, Texas, and revised its criteria to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer.

Ben Hogan Award winners at Colonial have combined to accumulate 39 PGA TOUR victories and more than $240 million in prize money. Two winners are currently ranked in the top 10 in the Official World Golf Rankings, No. 3 Jon Rahm (2015-16) and No. 6 Patrick Cantlay (2012), Other recipients include: Ricky Barnes (2003), Matt Every (2006), Rickie Fowler (2008), Doug Ghim (2018), Bill Haas (2004), Viktor Hovland (2019), Chris Kirk (2007), Hunter Mahan (2003), Maverick McNealy (2017), Ryan Moore (2005), Patrick Rodgers (2014), Kyle Stanley (2009), Nick Taylor (2010), D.J. Trahan (2002), Peter Uihlein (2011) and Chris Williams (2013).

To find the latest information on The Ben Hogan Award, its candidates and its previous winners, visit and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter and Instagram.

Watch List Candidates
John Augenstein, Vanderbilt, Sr., Owensboro, Ky.
John Axelsen, Florida, Jr., Tølløse, Denmark
Ricky Castillo, Florida, Fr., Yorba Linda, Calif.
Pierceson Coody, Texas, So., Plano, Texas
Quade Cummins, Oklahoma, Sr., Weatherford, Okla.
Cooper Dossey, Baylor, Sr., Austin, Texas
Austin Eckroat, Oklahoma State, Jr., Edmond, Okla.
Carl Didrik Fosaas, Keiser, So., Vestskogen, Norway
Noah Goodwin, SMU, Jr., Corinth, Texas
Cole Hammer, Texas, So., Houston, Texas
Peter Kuest, BYU, Sr., Fresno, Calif.
Drew Mathers, Huntingdon, Sr., Mobile, Ala.
William Mouw, Pepperdine, Fr., Chino, Calif.
Vincent Norrman, Georgia Southwestern, Jr., Stockholm, Sweden
Andy Ogletree, Georgia Tech, Sr., Little Rock, Miss.
John Pak, Florida State, Jr., Scotch Plains, N.J.
Adrien Pendaries, Duke, Jr., Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
David Perkins, Illinois State, Sr., East Peoria, Ill.
Trent Phillips, Georgia, So., Inman, S.C.
Mark Power, Wake Forest, Fr., Kilkenny, Ireland
Garrett Reband, Oklahoma, Sr., Fort Worth, Texas
Jovan Rebula, Auburn, Sr., George, South Africa
Matthias Schmid, Louisville, Jr., Maxhvette, Germany
Luke Schniederjans, Georgia Tech, Sr., Powder Springs, Ga.
Sandy Scott, Texas Tech, Sr., Nairn, Scotland
Tyler Strafaci, Georgia Tech, Sr., Davie, Fla.
Sahith Theegala, Pepperdine, Sr., Chino Hills, Calif.
Davis Thompson, Georgia, Jr., Auburn, Ala.
Jack Trent, UNLV, Jr., Sunshine Coast, Australia
Trevor Werbylo, Arizona, Jr., Tucson, Ariz.
Chun An Yu, Arizona State, Sr., Taoyuan, Taiwan

About the 2020 Watch List
• The 2020 Ben Hogan Award watch list includes 14 seniors, 10 juniors, four sophomores and three freshmen.
• A total of 24 colleges and universities are represented on the watch list. Six schools—Georgia Tech (3), Florida (2), Georgia (2), Oklahoma (2), Pepperdine (2) and Texas (2)—have multiple honorees.
• Eight players (Quade Cummins, Cole Hammer, Peter Kuest, Trent Phillips, Matthias Schmid, Luke Schniederjans, Tyler Strafaci and Chun An Yu) are repeat members from the 2019 watch list.
• Ttwo members, Cole Hammer and Chun An Yu, were among the 10 semifinalists a year ago.
• Eight schools represented on the watch list (Arizona, Arizona State, Florida, Georgia, Oklahoma State, Texas, UNLV and Wake Forest) are home to previous Ben Hogan Award winners. Those eight schools have collected 13 awards in the 18 years it has been held at Colonial.
• Five conferences have multiple golfers on the watch list, led by the ACC and Big 12 with seven apiece. The other leagues with multiple bids are the SEC (6), WCC (3) and Pac-12 (2).

About Konica Minolta
Konica Minolta Business Solutions U.S.A., Inc. is reshaping and revolutionizing the Workplace of the Future™ with its expansive smart office product portfolio from IT Services (All Covered), ECM, Managed Print Services and industrial and commercial print solutions. Konica Minolta has been recognized as the #1 Brand for Customer Loyalty in the MFP Office Copier Market by Brand Keys for 11 consecutive years, and is proud to be ranked on the Forbes 2017 America's Best Employers list. The World Technology Awards recently named the company a finalist in the IT Software category. Konica Minolta, Inc. has been named to the Dow Jones Sustainability World Index for six consecutive years. It partners with its clients to give shape to ideas and work to bring value to our society. For more information, please visit: and follow Konica Minolta on Facebook, YouTube, and Twitter.