Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Koivun, Lamprecht and Sargent Named 2024 Ben Hogan Award Presented by PNC Bank Finalists

Written by Drew Harris, The Hogan Trophy Award Foundation

FORT WORTH, Texas (May 7, 2024) – The Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, Friends of Golf (FOG) and Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) have announced the three finalists for the 2024 Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank, which annually awards the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer based on all collegiate, amateur and professional events over the previous 12 months.

Determined by voting from the award’s esteemed selection committee made up of more than 30 leaders in collegiate, amateur and professional golf, the 2024 Ben Hogan Award Finalists are Auburn freshman Jackson Koivun, Georgia Tech senior Christo Lamprecht and Vanderbilt junior Gordon Sargent.

Koivun is the first-ever finalist from Auburn, while Lamprecht is the second from Georgia Tech, joining Ollie Schniederjans (2014). Sargent is a finalist for the second straight year, and is the school’s third ever, all in the past five years (John Augenstein, 2020). Koivun is just the second freshman to be an award finalist in the last decade, joining Florida’s Ricky Castillo in 2020.

Koivun, a native of Chapel Hill, N.C., is ranked third in the National Collegiate Golf Ranking System and fourth in the World Amateur Golf Ranking. He reached the quarterfinals of the 2023 U.S. Amateur and placed second at the 2024 Jones Cup Invitational. His amateur finishes also include a 20th-place showing at last summer’s Southern Amateur and a 21st-place landing at the Western Amateur.

Koivun owns a 69.15 collegiate scoring average thanks to 16 sub-70 scores in his 33 rounds. He has nine top-5 finishes in 11 tournaments, including wins at the SEC Championships and the Pinehurst Intercollegiate. His victory at the conference tournament came by six strokes with a 12-under-par total of 198. He earned SEC Golfer of the Week honors three times and Freshman of the Week accolades on five other occasions.

Lamprecht sits atop the World Amateur Golf Ranking, is second in the PGA TOUR University rankings and sixth in the National Collegiate Golf Ranking System. He won the 2023 Amateur Championship and claimed the Silver Medal as the low amateur at the 151st Open Championship (T-74). The South African finished 71st at the 2024 Masters Tournament. A member of the International Team at the 2023 Arnold Palmer Cup, he also competed at the 2023 World Amateur Team Championship, placing eighth.

Collegiately, he won the OFCC/Fighting Illini Invitational and was co-medalist at the 2023 Ben Hogan Collegiate Invitational. Additionally, Lamprecht shared second place at the Watersound Invitational and tied for third at this spring’s ACC Championship. Overall, he owns a 69.11 stroke average with six top-10 finishes in 10 events and no placements outside the top 16.

Sargent, a product of Birmingham, Ala., ranks second in the World Amateur Golf Ranking and seventh in the National Collegiate Golf Ranking System. In the fall, he became the first player to earn his PGA TOUR card through the PGA TOUR University Accelerated program. A member of the United States teams at the Walker Cup and Arnold Palmer Cup, Sargent was low amateur at the 123rd U.S. Open (T-39). He also reached the round of 64 at the 2023 U.S. Amateur and was fifth individually at the World Amateur Team Championships for victorious Team USA.

Sargent has a 69.93 average over 27 college rounds in 2023-24. He won the Mason Rudolph Invitational and was runner up at the SEC Stroke Play and the Watersound Invitational. His tie for third at the Ben Hogan Collegiate Invitational gives him four top-5 finishes in nine events.

The finalists will attend a black-tie dinner Monday, May 20, at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, where the winner will be crowned.

The Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank has honored the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer at Colonial Country Club since 2002. Prior to its move to Fort Worth, the original Ben Hogan Trophy, which was awarded based on a different list of criteria, was issued at Bel-Air Country Club in Los Angeles beginning in 1990.

Recipients of the Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank have combined to accumulate 88 worldwide victories, including 66 PGA TOUR wins, and have amassed more than $420 million in prize money on the PGA TOUR. Additionally, the group has appeared in 17 Ryder Cups and a dozen Presidents Cups.

Past recipients are Ludvig Åberg (‘22, ‘23), Ricky Barnes (‘03), Patrick Cantlay (‘12), Matt Every (‘06), Rickie Fowler (‘08), Doug Ghim (‘18), Bill Haas (‘04), Viktor Hovland (‘19), Chris Kirk (‘07), Hunter Mahan (‘03), Maverick McNealy (‘17), Ryan Moore (‘05), John Pak (‘21), Jon Rahm (‘15, ‘16), Patrick Rodgers (‘14), Kyle Stanley (‘09), Nick Taylor (‘10), Sahith Theegala (‘20), D.J. Trahan (‘02), Peter Uihlein (‘11) and Chris Williams (‘13).

Since 2002, the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation has awarded over $1 million in scholarships and charitable contributions. For more information on the Ben Hogan Award presented by PNC Bank, visit and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

2024 Finalists

Jackson Koivun, Auburn, Fr., Chapel Hill, N.C.

Christo Lamprecht, Georgia Tech, Sr., George, South Africa

Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt, Jr., Birmingham, Ala.