Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



GCAA to Induct Six Hall of Fame Members for 2014

NORMAN, Okla. – The GCAA will induct five coaches - Steve Condon, Bill Gardner, Richard Poe, Whitey Skoog and O.D. Vincent - in its 2014 Hall of Fame Class. Additionally, Tim Huet will be honored for his contributions to college golf. The group will be officially honored at the GCAA Hall of Fame Reception and Awards Banquet Monday, Dec. 8 in Las Vegas.

Condon coached Jefferson Davis State Community College from 1980-82 and Huntingdon College from 1982-89. While he coached two NJCAA All-Americans and finished regional runner-up in 1982 while at Jefferson Davis State, Condon’s greatest success came at Huntingdon. In his seven year’s at Huntingdon, Condon’s squads won four NAIA national championships and finished second, third and ninth in the other three. His teams won seven regional/district titles and seven Southern States Athletic Conference Championships. He was named NAIA national coach of the year four times and regional and conference coach of the year all seven seasons. Condon coached 27 All-America selections, 23 Academic All-Americans and four NAIA medalists. He currently serves as President of Laurel University.

Gardner was the first coach in the history of Walters State Community College, where he has coached baseball, basketball and golf. Gardner has led the Senators to the NJCAA National Championship Tournament on numerous occasions, capturing more than 15 state and region crowns along the way. He recently coached the Senators program to a national runner-up finish in 2013 and won the NJCAA Division II National Championship in 2014, earning the Dave Williams Award presented by Eaton Golf Pride as national coach of the year both seasons. His team also claimed the Farmers Insurance Academic National Championship for NJCAA Division II in 2014. Gardner has received multiple TJCCAA, TCCAA and NJCAA Coach-of-the-Year awards. He is a member of the Tusculum College Sports Hall of Fame and the Tennessee Community College Athletic Association Hall of Fame.

Poe served as Missouri Golf Coach from 1977-98. Poe was a two-time Big Eight Coach of the Year and won the league crown in 1984. His squads reached the NCAA regionals or finals in 15 of the last 16 years he coached. Poe coached five PING All-America selections and 11 Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars. He was very active in both the GCAA and NCAA, serving on the GCAA Ethics Committee and voted in its coaches poll. Poe served six years on the NCAA District 5 selection committee, sitting as chair three of those seasons. A PGA of America Class A Professional since 1972, Poe has served on the national and Gateway section board of directors. He has used his experience as both a college golf coach and PGA professional to serve as co-chair of the Labron Harris Award since the award’s creation in 2004.

Skoog retired as Gustavus Adolphus Men’s Golf Coach after 22 seasons in January of 1995. Skoog, a professor in the physical education department for 35 years and men’s basketball coach for 24 seasons at Gustavus, built the men’s golf program into one of the finest in the nation. Under Skoog’s direction, the Gusties won 17 Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Championships including 13 straight from 1982 through 1994. His teams made 12 appearances in the NCAA Division III Championships, which included a string of 11 consecutive showings. In seven of those 12 appearances, the Gusties finished in the top five six times, including second place performances in 1990, 1991 and 1992. He coached 16 conference champions, a national champion and Ben Hogan award winner, 11 PING All-Americans who received All-America honors a total of 21 times, three CoSIDA Academic All-Americans, and 12 Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-American Scholars. A nine-time MIAC Coach of the Year and seven-time District 5 Coach of the Year, Skoog was selected as the national coach of the year following the 1990-91 season.

Between 1995 and 2008, Vincent served as Head Men’s golf Coach at Washington, UCLA, and Duke. He coached 30 individual medalists, 35 team champions, 11 PING All-Americans, four Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars, two Conference Championship teams, two NCAA Regional titles and five NCAA top-10 team finishes. His teams qualified for the NCAA Championship in all 12 season he coached, advancing to the finals nine times including five top-10 finishes. Vincent was named Conference Coach of the Year three times, twice honored as NCAA District Coach of the Year, and received the 1999 Dave Williams Award presented by Eaton Golf Pride as national coach of the year. He served as the International Team coach for the 2004 USA vs Japan Collegiate Golf Championships and the 2006 USA China Friendship Cup. During his tenure, Vincent was instrumental in the development of two practice facilities, created three team support groups, and started six different collegiate events. Vincent served on the GCAA All-America committee and continues to serve on the Byron Nelson Award committee. He remains the only golfer in Pac-12 history to win medalist honors as a player and later earn the league’s coach of the year award. Vincent is in his second year as Executive Director of the PGA TOUR Northern Trust Open.

Huet created TaylorMade’s college program in 1988 and spearheaded the company’s efforts in college golf. Over the years TaylorMade-adidas has supported over 100 Division I teams, as well as select Division II and Division III programs. Under his direction, TaylorMade established and sponsored several collegiate tournaments, underwriting the entire event, and provided non-title support to many others. Huet also formed TaylorMade’s College Coaches Advisory Board. He was TaylorMade-adidas’ recruiter from 2002-10 and created the company’s Developmental Pro initiative to and aid and assist former college golfers with their first foray into professional golf. While with Ashworth, Huet created the line’s college program and pioneered the offering of the basics line, which became a staple for the outfitting of college golf teams. In the spring of 2003 Huet, in conjunction with the GCAA, created the Jan Strickland Assistant Coach of the Year Award, which has been sponsored by TaylorMade-adidas Golf since its inception. He served on the award’s selection committee for several years.