Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



10 semifinalists named for 2016 The Ben Hogan Award

On Tuesday, May 3, the list of 10 semifinalists will be pared down to three finalists. The three finalists will attend a black-tie banquet at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, on Monday, May 23, where the winner will be crowned.

The award, which was first issued in 1990 and included academic achievement in its original list of standards, revised its criteria for the 2001-02 collegiate season to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer at Colonial prior to the start of the PGA Tour’s DEAN & DELUCA Invitational.

Since that time, the winners have been: D.J. Trahan (Clemson, 2002), Ricky Barnes (Arizona, 2003), Hunter Mahan (Oklahoma State, 2003), Bill Haas (Wake Forest, 2004), Ryan Moore (UNLV, 2005), Matt Every (Florida, 2006), Chris Kirk (Georgia, 2007), Rickie Fowler (Oklahoma State, 2008), Kyle Stanley (Clemson, 2009), Nick Taylor (Washington, 2010), Peter Uihlein (Oklahoma State, 2011), Patrick Cantlay (UCLA, 2012), Chris Williams (Washington, 2013), Patrick Rodgers (Stanford, 2014) and Rahm (Arizona State, 2015).

Notable semifinalists over the years include: Jonas Blixt (Florida State), Bud Cauley (Alabama), Kevin Chappell (UCLA), Harris English (Georgia), Chesson Hadley (Georgia Tech), Brian Harman (Georgia), Russell Henley (Georgia), Dustin Johnson (Coastal Carolina), Anthony Kim (Oklahoma), Scott Langley (Illinois), Spencer Levin (New Mexico), Webb Simpson (Wake Forest), Jordan Spieth (Texas), Justin Thomas (Alabama), Michael Thompson (Alabama), Camilo Villegas (Florida) and Nick Watney (Fresno State).

For more information on The Ben Hogan Award, visit and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter.


Name – School, Year, Hometown
Charlie Danielson – Illinois, Sr., Osceola, Wis.
Sam Horsfield – Florida, Fr., Davenport, Fla.
Beau Hossler – Texas, Jr., Mission Viejo, Calif.
Michael Johnson – Auburn, Sr., Birmingham, Ala.
Lee McCoy – Georgia, Sr., Clarkesville, Ga.
Maverick McNealy – Stanford, Jr., Portola Valley, Calif.
Matt NeSmith – South Carolina, Sr., North Augusta, S.C.
Jon Rahm – Arizona State, Sr., Barrika, Spain
Robby Shelton – Alabama, Jr., Wilmer, Ala.
Aaron Wise – Oregon, So., Lake Elsinore, Calif.

Notes About the Semifinalists
• The Ben Hogan Award semifinalist group includes five seniors, three juniors, one sophomore and one freshman.
• This is the second straight year, but just the second time since 2005, that no teammates are among the semifinalists.
• All 10 semifinalists are inside the top 25 in all four major ranking systems (Scratch Players World Amateur Ranking, World Amateur Golf Ranking, Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings and Golfstat Head-to-Head Rankings).
• The Southeastern Conference has the most semifinalists (5). Last year, the SEC and Pac-12 each had three to lead the nation. It marks the first time since 2011 that the Pac-12 does not rank first or tied for first.
• Five of the 10 nominees (Beau Hossler, Lee McCoy, Maverick McNealy, Jon Rahm and Robby Shelton) are semifinalists for the second straight year, with Shelton being named for the third consecutive season.
• Jon Rahm is attempting to become the first two-time winner in the award’s history.
• Sam Horsfield is the first freshmen to be named a semifinalist since Robby Shelton in 2014. Other freshmen semifinalists in the past five years include: Brandon Stone (2013), Julien Brun (2012), Cheng-Tsung Pan (2012), Patrick Rodgers (2012), Jordan Spieth (2012) and Justin Thomas (2012).
• Matt NeSmith is the first semifinalist in South Carolina history.
• Alabama has had at least one semifinalist in nine consecutive years (Michael Thompson-2008; Bud Cauley-2009, 2010, 2011; Justin Thomas-2012, 2013; Bobby Wyatt-2013, 2014; Robby Shelton-2014, 2015, 2016), which is the longest active streak in the country.
• Other schools with active semifinalist streaks include: Stanford (7), Georgia (3), Arizona State (2) and Texas (2).
• Four schools with 2015 semifinalists are home to former Hogan Award winners (Arizona State-Jon Rahm, Florida-Matt Every, Georgia-Chris Kirk and Stanford-Patrick Rodgers).

About Konica Minolta
Konica Minolta Business Solutions U.S.A., Inc. is a leader in information management focused on enterprise content, technology optimization and cloud services. Our portfolio of offerings deliver solutions to improve our customers’ speed to market, manage technology costs, and facilitate the sharing of information to increase productivity. The All Covered IT Services division offers a range of IT strategy, support, project and cloud computing solutions across all verticals. Konica Minolta has won numerous awards and recognition, including placement in the Leaders Quadrant on the Gartner 2014 Magic Quadrant for Managed Print Services (MPS) and Managed Content Services (MCS). Konica Minolta has been recognized as the#1 Brand for Customer Loyalty in the MFP Office Copier Market by Brand Keys for nine consecutive years. Konica Minolta, Inc. has also been named to the Dow Jones Sustainability World Index for four years in a row. For more information, please visit: and follow Konica Minolta on Facebook, YouTube, and Twitter @konicaminoltaus.