Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Finalists Announced for 2016 Division III Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips

NORMAN, Okla. – Division III finalists for the Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips have been announced by the GCAA. The Williams Award honors the national coach of the year in Division III men’s golf.

The five finalists are Steve Conley of Methodist, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps’ Bim Jollymour, Chris Hill of Concordia (TX), Oglethorpe’s Jim Owen and Scott Proshek of St. Thomas (MN). If a team wins the NCAA Championship and its coach was not previously named a finalist for the Dave Williams Award that coach will be added for coach of the year consideration.

Methodist has spent the entire 2015-16 season ranked first in the Bushnell Golfweek Coaches Poll. The Conley led Monarchs captured two wins and six runner-up finishes in nine tournaments. Their worst finish was fourth.

Claremont-Mudd-Scripps claimed three team victories this season. It also recorded three runner-up finishes, as well third and fourth place showings in eight events. Jollymour was previously named Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Coach of the Year.

In his first season at Concordia, Hill guided the Tornadoes to five victories. Its worst finish in 10 events was tied for fifth. Hill was named American Southwest Conference Coach of the Year.

Oglethorpe captured three team titles this season and were runner-up twice. In 10 events the Stormy Petrels only finished outside the top 10 once. Owen was named Southern Athletic Association Coach of the Year for the fourth consecutive season.

St. Thomas won outright or tied for first in five tournaments in 2015-16. The Tommie’s also had three runner-up finishes. Proshek’s squad placed no worse than fifth in 12 events.