Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Division I Finalists Named for Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips

EUGENE, Ore. – Division I finalists for the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award presented by Golf Pride Grips have been announced by the GCAA. The Williams Award honors the national coach of the year in Division I men’s golf.

The five finalists are Alan Bratton of Oklahoma State, John Fields of Texas, Georgia’s Chris Haack, Conrad Ray of Stanford and Illinois’ Mike Small. If a team wins the NCAA Championship and its coach was not previously named a finalist for the Dave Williams Award that coach will be added for coach of the year consideration.

Bratton has led Oklahoma State to four wins this season, including at NCAA Regionals. The Cowboys were also runner-up three times. Oklahoma State placed in the top five in 10 of 12 events. Three Cowboys claimed medalist honors on the season.

Fields has led Texas to seven wins in 2015-16, including seven of the last nine. The Longhors have finished in the top four in nine straight events. Fields has coached a squad where five golfers have finished in the top-10 and two have earned medalist honors at least twice. Fields was named Big 12 Coach of the Year.

Haack has piloted the Bulldogs to four tournament wins this season. The Bulldogs were runner-up three times. Georgia did not place outside the top six this sesason. Three Bulldogs claimed medalist honors this season. Haack was named SEC Coach of the Year.

Ray has led Stanford to three straight team victories entering the NCAA Championships. The Cardinal were also runner-up once. Stanford has not placed outside the top six this season. Two Cardinal golfers have combined for five individual titles. Ray was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year.

The 2015 Dave Williams Award recipient, Small has led Illinois to nine team titles this season. The Illini have only one finsh outside the top five once. Two Illini golfers posted individual victories. Small was named Big Ten Coach of the Year.