Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



2016 Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award presented by Golf Pride Grips Announced


COLUMBUS, Ohio – The GCAA in conjunction with Golf Pride Grips today announced the six outstanding collegiate golf coaches receiving the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award presented by Golf Pride Grips. Golf Pride Grips will present the coaches with their awards during the Hall of Fame Banquet at the GCAA National Convention on December 12.

John Fields of Texas (Division I), Chris Greenwood of Saint Leo (Division II), Bim Jollymour of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (Division III), Kyle Blaser of Oklahoma City (NAIA), Delnor Poss of Midland College (NJCAA Division I) and Darin Pint of Kirkwood (NJCAA Division II) earned coach of the year honors for 2016. Golf Pride Grips Region and District Coaches of the Year were also named.

Fields guided Texas to seven team wins and two runner-ups, including a runner-up finish at the 2016 National Championship in extra holes. Texas won its fourth-straight Big 12 Championship and advanced to its 10th-straight NCAA Championship appearance under Fields. Fields was named Big 12 Coach of the Year and landed three golfers on the All-Big 12 team. The Longhorns finished in the top four in 10 straight events. Fields coached a squad where five golfers finished in the top-10 and two earned medalist honors at least twice. This marks Fields second Williams Award.

Greenwood led Saint Leo to its first national championship in 2016. The Lions captured three team titles this season, including the national title, and finished in the top five in 11 of 12 tournaments. The team set the NCAA Championship record for team score through 36 and 54 holes. Freshman Hugo Bernard set the championships 36 and 54 hole record en route to earning national championship medalist honors.

Jollymour led Claremont-Mudd-Scripps to the program’s first NCAA Division III National Championship. The team took an 11-stroke lead after the first day and eventually won by six strokes for the title. Under Jollymour, the Stags have made 11 trips to the NCAA tournament including nine consecutive appearances and three top-5 finishes. CMS won the Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference title and Jollymour was named its coach of the year.

Oklahoma City posted six first-place finishes, including the NAIA National Championships and Sooner Athletic Conference Championship. Blaser’s squad was also runner-up twice. Oklahoma City’s worst finish in 10 events was seventh. Two Stars golfers captured individual medalist honors and three earned PING First-Team All-America honors. This year’s Williams Award marks the eighth time Blaser has received the honor.

Poss guided Midland College to eight victories this season. The Chapparals were runner-up in every other event they played with the exception of the NJCAA Division I Championship, where they finished third. Four Midland golfers won medalist honors this season. Midland finished the regular season ranked second in the Bushnell Golfweek Coaches Poll

Kirkwood claimed seven wins this season. Additionaly, Pint led the Eagles to three runner-up finishes, including the NJCAA Division II National Championships. Kirkwood did not finish outside the top three in 14 tournaments this season. Three Eagles claimed medalist honors in 2015-16.

About Golf Pride Grips:
For over six decades, Golf Pride has been the global leader in golf grip innovation and technology, from the invention of the slip-on grip to groundbreaking advancements in cord with our new Brushed Cotton Technology (BCT®) to the introduction of the hybrid category of grips. Today, Golf Pride® has laid claim to more major wins than any other grip company. More than 80% of Tour professionals choose to play our grips and not one is paid to do so. And in this age of multi-million dollar endorsement deals, that’s the strongest endorsement of all. So, whether you’re a Tour pro playing a major, a rising amateur, or an everyday golfer, you can rest assured knowing you’re playing the #1 Grip in Golf, visit or on Facebook at

Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award Presented by Golf Pride Grips

Division I - John Fields, Texas
Division II - Chris Greenwood, Saint Leo
Division III - Bim Jollymour, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
NAIA - Kyle Blaser, Oklahoma City
NJCAA Division I - Delnor Poss, Midland College
NJCAA Division II - Darin Pint, Kirkwood

Golf Pride Grips Region and District Coaches of the Year

Division I
Northeast - Greg Nye, Penn State
East - Larry Penley, Clemson
Southeast - Scott Limbaugh, Vanderbilt
Midwest - Mike Small, Illinois
Central - John Fields, Texas
West - Conrad Ray, Stanford

Division II
East - Stephen Ferrara, St. Thomas Aquinas
Atlantic - Will Johnson, Charleston
Southeast - Darcy Donaldson, Georgia Southwestern
South - Chris Greenwood, Saint Leo
Midwest - Troy Halterman, Missouri-St. Louis
Central - Tim Poe, Central Missouri
South Central - David Lynn, Oklahoma Christian
West - TL Brown, Chico State

Division III
Northeast - Tom Oppedisano, Skidmore
Mid-Atlantic - Andy Tompos, Franklin & Marshall
Southeast - Dave Schreyer, Huntingdon
Great Lakes - Jeff Roope, Wittenberg
Central - Scott Proshek, St. Thomas (MN)
West - Bim Jollymour, Clarement-Mudd-Scripps

North - Barry Doty, William Woods
South - AJ Broderick, Johnson & Wales (FL)
Central - Kyle Blaser, Oklahoma City
West - Chris MacDonald, British Columbia

NJCAA Division I
District I - Clark Rustand, Pima
District II - Delnor Poss, Midland College
District III - Derrick Thompson, Iowa Western
District IV - Jamie Howell, Eastern Florida State

NJCAA Division II
East - Josh Williams, Owens
Central - Tommy Snell, Mississippi Gulf Coast
West - Andy Walker, South Mountain