Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Blagg Recipient of Jan Strickland Award presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf


NORMAN, Okla. – Baylor’s Ryan Blagg was named recipient of the 2017 Jan Strickland Outstanding Assistant Coach Award presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf as selected by the GCAA. The Strickland Award is presented to the NCAA Division I, II, III, NAIA or NJCAA assistant coach that, among other things, has excelled in working with their student-athletes both on the course and in the classroom.

“It is an incredible honor to be recognized as the Jan Strickland Award recipient,” said Blagg. “I feel extremely blessed to be in the company of all the past winners. I’d like to thank the GCAA, TaylorMade-adidas, the Jan Strickland Award committee, Coach (Mike) McGraw and our team. I’m really excited to see what the future holds for Baylor Golf.”

Blagg is in his fifth season as an assistant coach for the Baylor men’s golf program. He was a 2016 finalist for the Jan Strickland Award. The Bears have claimed three tournament victories and placed in the top four in all but two events this season. Braden Bailey, Cooper Dossey and Matthew Perrine won or tied for medalist honors this season and earned All-Big 12 honors. Additionally, Dossey was named Big 12 Newcomer of the Year. Baylor led the Big 12 with seven student-athletes on the Academic All-Big 12 Golf Teams, including six first-teamers. Baylor will compete at the Stanford Regional May 15-17.

“Ryan is very deserving of this prestigious award,” stated Baylor Head Men’s Golf Coach Mike McGraw. “He is one of the hardest working and most efficient golf coaches I have ever seen. It will also please our players that he is being honored because he has made such an impact on this team.”

The Strickland Award recipient will have the opportunity to further his professional development by receiving an invitation to the TaylorMade-adidas Golf Kingdom in Carlsbad, Calif.

TaylorMade-adidas Golf has sponsored the Strickland Award since its inception in 2003.