Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Division I Jack Nicklaus Award presented by Barbasol Finalists Announced


NORMAN, Okla. – Five finalists have been named for the 2019 Division I Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol. Victor Hovland and Matthew Wolff of Oklahoma State, Collin Morikawa of California, Clemson’s’ Bryson Nimmer, and Justin Suh of Southern California are finalists for the award. The winner will be announced May 30. The Award presentation will be held at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, and presented by award namesake Jack Nicklaus during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide.

In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the five recipients will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA TOUR’s Barbasol Championship, held July 18-21, at the Champions at Keene Trace in Lexington, Ky. The Barbasol Shootout will be held Saturday, June 1 at The Ohio State University Golf Club’s Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio - the same club where Jack Nicklaus played collegiate golf for the Buckeyes.

Hovland has three victories during the 2019 season and has registered a scoring average of 68.59 in 22 rounds played. In those 22 rounds, 16 have been in the 60’s. Hovland also has six top-ten finishes and finished solo second at the Big 12 Championship. The junior from Oslo, Norway was recently named the Ben Hogan Award winner.

The PAC-12 player of the year, Morikawa owns a scoring average of 68.65 over 34 rounds played. A native of La Canada Flintridge, California, Morikawa posted top five finishes in nine of his ten starts in 2019, including two victories, most recently winning the PAC-12 championship.

A Bluffton, S.C., native, Nimmer was most recently named ACC Player of the Year. In his 33 rounds this season, Nimmer has a scoring average of 69.06, with 22 of those rounds in the 60’s. Nimmer has ten top-ten finishes in his eleven starts of 2019 while also picking up two victories.

An All PAC-12 selection, Suh owns a scoring average of 69.12 over his 31 rounds played. The Senior from San Jose, California, Has six overall top-five finishes, eight top-10 results as well as 10 top-15 finishes in 2019.

A five-time winner his sophomore season, Wolff has registered a scoring average of 68.58 in his 31 rounds. In addition to his five victories the Agura Hills, California, native has placed top-ten in eight of his eleven starts.

Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988 and it is now presented to the National Player of the year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III, as well as NAIA and NJCAA.

About Barbasol:
Barbasol is America’s #1 brand of shaving cream. For the past 100 years, generations of men have trusted Barbasol for a close, comfortable shave. Barbasol is now proud to offer a comprehensive assortment of premium razors. Barbasol Shaving Cream and Razors are available at retailers nationwide. Barbasol is owned by Dublin, Ohio-based Perio Inc. For more information on Barbasol, visit