Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Goss of Northwestern Recipient of Labron Harris Sr. Award presented by E-Z-GO


NORMAN, Okla. – Pat Goss, director of golf and head men’s golf coach at Northwestern University and a member of the Illinois PGA Section, has been named winner of the Labron Harris Sr. Award presented by E-Z-GO in cooperation with The PGA of America and the Golf Coaches Association of America. The Harris Award is presented to the college or high school coach and PGA Professional whose support of the game through teaching, coaching and involvement in the community has helped ensure the continued growth of the golf and who represents the finest qualities the game has to offer.

“It’s a great honor to win an award based on one of the all-time great college coaches in Labron Harris,” said Goss. “He had such an impact on college golf, and in his dual role as a PGA professional helped grow the game and made it possible for so many to enjoy the game. What makes this award stand out to me is that for any individual to have a chance to give back and help grow a game that has given us so much and that we love makes it even more special. When I look at the list of previous winners, I’m humbled to be included among them.”     

Now in his 17th season as Northwestern’s men’s golf coach, Goss has built the program into one of the best in the Big Ten, the Midwest and all of college golf. Named national coach of the year by Golfweek in 1997, his accomplishments at Northwestern include four Big Ten titles, 15 NCAA regional appearances and seven trips to the NCAA Championships finals. He has earned Big Ten Coach of the Year honors four times and was named Eaton Golf Pride GCAA District IV Coach of the Year twice. His players have earned PING All-America honors 11 times, twice have been named Big Ten Player of the Year, 25 All-Big Ten selections and won Big Ten medalist honors on five occasions. Luke Donald won the Jack Nicklaus Award as the collegiate player of the year in 1999 when he also won the NCAA championship while playing for Goss. 

His players have also excelled in the classroom with his charges earning Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholar honors 16 times and 50 Academic All-Big Ten selections. Additionally, Northwestern has been honored as an All-Academic Team presented by Farmers Insurance for maintaining a team GPA over 3.0 each of the past four seasons. Every student-athlete who has played for Goss has earned their degree.

Goss also makes many contributions to college golf away from the course. In his role as director of golf he oversees both the men’s and women’s golf programs. He secured one of college golf’s largest gifts, which endowed the operating budgets for both the men’s and women’s golf teams and included building the $1.1 million Gleacher Golf Center. Goss started the NU Golf Fund to secure the future of Northwestern golf and support capital projects. He secured memberships for both Northwestern golf teams at the Glen Club and built the Luke Donald Outdoor Practice Facility. Northwestern hosted the 1997 NCAA Championships during his tenure as well as the 2006 men’s and 2011 women’s Big Ten Golf Championships. Goss served on the GCAA All-America Committee and the Midwest Region NCAA Advisory Committee, spending one season as chair of both.

Goss, one of the most respected teachers in golf, was named one of the “Top 100 Teachers in America” by Golf Magazine in 2007. He has written instructional articles for Golf Magazine and Golf Digest and appeared on Golf Academy Live and in a CBS Sports special on PGA Professionals. Goss has served as the featured speaker at the Illinois PGA Teaching Summit, an Illinois PGA Assistant’s Association educational event and to Golf Australia’s national coaches. He has been a guest speaker at the Illinois Junior Golf Association, Conway Farms Golf Clubs Junior Golf Night and GCAA National Convention and conducted hundreds more clinics and lessons. He has served as primary teacher to Luke Donald since August 2001 and short game coach to Trevor Immelman since August of this year.

Goss is also very active in The First Tee of Chicago, serving on the group’s board of directors and as chairman of the programming committee. He co-chaired “A Taste of The First Tee” event that raised over $400,000 for The First Tee of Chicago and featured Luke Donald, Jack Nicklaus, Steve Stricker, Mark Wilson and Jeff Sluman. 
Additionally, Northwestern’s golf teams have volunteered at the Maryville Golf Academy. Maryville is a home to mentally disabled young adults and runs a golf program as part if its curriculum. 

“Pat has distinguished himself on so many levels, and The PGA of America is extremely proud to have him as a member,” said PGA President Allen Wronowski. “Pat has displayed an enduring commitment to the student-athletes at Northwestern and to the community at large. PGA Professionals are recognized as the Experts in the Game and Business of Golf, and Pat certainly is a shining example of that gold standard.”

Goss follows in the footsteps of past Labron Harris Award presented by E-Z-GO recipients Jay Hardwick (Virginia Tech/Middle Atlantic PGA Section), Devon Brouse (Purdue/Indiana PGA Section), the late Rod Myers (Duke/Carolina PGA Section), Herb Page (Kent State/Northern Ohio PGA Section), Jim Brown (Ohio State/Southern Ohio PGA Section), Pat Owen (U.S. Naval Academy/Middle Atlantic PGA Section), Rick Pohle (Williams College/ Northeastern New York PGA Section) and John Bermel (Northern Iowa/Iowa PGA Section).

“E-Z-GO is proud to partner with the GCAA to honor Coach Goss with the 2012 Labron Harris Sr. Award,” said Kevin Holleran, president of E-Z-GO. “Coach Goss has built powerful programs that have sustained a high level of success for many years. He has led Northwestern’s men and women to outstanding performance and success at all levels of our sport, and also in the classroom. His dedication to developing new generations of talented golfers, and to supporting and growing the game, make him one of the most influential teachers and leaders in the sport and industry today.”  

E-Z-GO, a Textron Inc. (NYSE: TXT) company, is a leading global manufacturer of golf cars, utility and personal transportation vehicles. Products sold under the E-Z-GO brand include RXV® and TXT® fleet golf cars, Freedom® RXV and Freedom TXT personal golf cars, E-Z-GO Terrain™ and Express™ personal utility vehicles, and the 2Five® street-legal low-speed vehicle. E-Z-GO also produces the Cushman® line of heavy-duty material carriers and utility vehicles, and the Bad Boy Buggies® line of off-road utility vehicles for hunters and outdoor enthusiasts.

E-Z-GO boasts the largest sales and service network in the industry, with more factory branch locations and independent distributors than any other manufacturer of golf cars and utility vehicles.

Founded in 1954 in Augusta, Ga., E-Z-GO became part of Textron Inc. in 1960.