Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



Finalists Named for 2013 Jan Strickland Award presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf

NORMAN, Okla. – John Handrigan of Florida, Northwestern’s David Inglis and Ryan Murphy of Texas have been named finalists for the 2013 Jan Strickland Award presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf as selected by the GCAA. The Strickland Award is presented to the NCAA Division I, II, III, NAIA or NJCAA assistant coach that, among other things, has excelled in working with their student-athletes both on the course and in the classroom.

Handrigan is in his second season at Florida. He also spent time as an assistant at Kansas, head men’s and women’s coach at Queens University, head men’s coach at Coker College and assistant coach at Saint Francis University. Last season Handrigan helped the Gators advance to their 12th consecutive NCAA Championship, the longest active streak in the nation. His developmental work was instrumental in the Gators rise from outside of the top 50 ranked teams in the fall of 2011 to a top 10 program. Handrigan also runs the Gator Golf Camp and Gator Winter Golf Camp.

Inglis joined Northwestern as its assistant men’s golf coach prior to the 2010-11 season. He handles the day-to-day operations and recruiting for the Wildcat men’s golf program. Inglis also serves as the tournament director of the Windon Memorial Classic and has spent the past two years as an instructor at the Wildcat Golf Academy. Northwestern has won five tournaments during his tenure and twice was honored as a GCAA Academic Team Award recipient. An assistant coach for the 2011 and 2012 European Palmer Cup Teams, he continues to serve on the European Palmer Cup selection committee.

Murphy, formerly the head men’s golf coach at St. Edward’s and assistant coach at New Mexico, assumed his post for the Texas men’s golf program prior to the 2008 season. He helped guide the Longhorns to the 2012 NCAA championship and was instrumental in the recruiting and development of First-Team All-America selections Dylan Frittelli and Jordan Spieth. Additionally, Frittelli was co-recipient of the Byron Nelson Award and Spieth was a finalist for the Ben Hogan Award. A club repair specialist, Murphy works closely with the team in club fitting. He also works closely with team members regarding golf course strategies and course management.

The Strickland Award recipient will have the opportunity to further his professional development by receiving an invitation to the TaylorMade-adidas Golf Kingdom in Carlsbad, Calif.

TaylorMade-adidas Golf has sponsored the Strickland Award since its inception in 2003.