Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



2011 Dave Williams Award Presented by Eaton Golf Pride Recipients Announced

NORMAN, Okla. – The GCAA in conjunction with diversified industrial manufacturer Eaton Corporation today announced that six outstanding collegiate golf coaches receiving the Dave Williams Award presented by Eaton Golf Pride as national coaches of the year. Jeff Fiorini, general manager of Eaton’s Golf Grip Division, will present the coaches with their awards during the Hall of Fame Banquet at the GCAA Convention.

Josh Gregory of Augusta State, Jason Owen of the Cal State Monterey Bay, Dirk Fennie of Greensboro College, David Lynn of Oklahoma Christian, Mike Hagen of Indian Hills and Tom Ferris of John A. Logan earned coach of the year honors for 2011.

Division I recipient Gregory earned Dave Williams Award distinction for the second-straight season. After claiming the 2011 NCAA championship, Gregory’s Augusta State squad became the first team to win back-to-back titles since Houston in 1984-85. The Jaguars also won the General Jim Hackler Championship and had four runner-up finishes. Augusta State would only finish outside the top five three times in 11 tournaments. Jaguar golfers Patrick Reed and Henrik Norlander earned PING All-America honors this season under Gregory’s tutelage.

Cal State Monterey Bay’s Owen was tabbed as the award’s Division II recipient. He led the Otters the NCAA Division II Championship. The national championship victory was the last in a streak of six-consecutive wins and one of seven overall for the season. Cal State Monterey Bay only finished outside the top five once in 11 tournaments. Owen was also named CCAA Coach of the Year for the second-straight year. Individually, three Cal State Monterey golfers earned PING All-America honors.

Fennie led Greensboro College to the NCAA Division III championship. In addition to claiming the national title, The Pride won its season opening event at the Golfweek Invitational and also claimed the OMNI Financial Intercollegiate. Greensboro only placed outside the top five twice in 10 events. Fennie was also tabbed USA South conference Coach of the Year. Three golfers earned PING All-America honors.

NAIA Williams Award recipient Lynn led Oklahoma Christian to the NAIA national title. The national championship was one of six victories by the Eagles during the 2010-11 season. Oklahoma Christian also finished runner-up four times. Lynn’s squad only placed outside the top-two spots once when it finished fourth. Four different Oklahoma Christian golfers claimed medalist honors a total of eight times for the season. NAIA Jack Nicklaus Award recipient Oscar Stark highlighted a contingent of four Eagles that earned PING All-America honors.

Hagen’s Indian Hills squad became the first northern school to claim the NJCAA Division I national championship. The past year proved to be the most dominating golf season in school history, a year in which the Warriors finished first in 11 of 13 tournaments, winning all five meets in which they played in the fall and their final five events of the spring. Three Indian Hills golfers earned PING All-America honors.

Ferris guided John A. Logan to its second NJCAA Division II national title this spring. The two national titles are the only two produced by the college in any sport in more than 40 years of competition. Ferris’ squad also won for other events - including the Region 24 Championship. Ferris was named Region 24 Coach of the Year. Individually, Filip Timmerman won medalist honors at the NJCAA Division II Championship.

Eaton’s Golf Grip Division is the world’s largest manufacturer of golf grips, with manufacturing, sales and distribution facilities on five continents. The division’s Golf Pride brand is recognized globally as the number one choice in grips among tour and recreational players, competitive amateur golfers, club manufacturers and club repairmen. For more information, visit

Dave Williams Award Presented by Eaton Golf Pride

Division I - Josh Gregory, Augusta State
Division II - Jason Owen, Cal State Monterey Bay
Division III - Dirk Fennie, Greensboro College
NAIA - David Lynn, Oklahoma Christian
NJCAA Division I - Mike Hagen, Indian Hills
NJCAA Division II - Tom Ferris, John A. Logan
Eaton Golf Pride Region Coaches of the Year

Eaton Golf Pride Region Coaches of the Year

Division I

Northeast - Colin Sheehan, Yale
East - Josh Gregory, Augusta State
Southeast - Jay Seawell, Alabama
Midwest - Mike Small, Illinois
Central - Mike McGraw, Oklahoma State
West - Ryan Donovan, San Diego State

Division II
East - Stephan Ferrara, St. Thomas Aquinas
Atlantic - Fred Joseph, IUP
Southeast - John Hackney, Barton
South - Chris Greenwood, Lynn
Midwest - Troy Halterman, Missouri-St. Louis
South Central - Mike Campbell, Abilene Christian
Central - Bud Anderson, Fort Lewis
West - Jason Owen, Cal State Monterey Bay

Division III
Northeast - Bill Beaney, Middlebury
Mid-Atlantic - Bob Simms, St. John Fisher
Southeast - Mike Phillips, Emory
Great Lakes - Brian Lane, Transylvania
Central - Jim Maguire, Wisconsin-Eau Claire
West – HC Tran, Texas Lutheran

North - Chris Winkle, Grand View
South – USC-Beaufort
Central - David Lynn, Oklahoma Christian
West - Paul Thompson, Lewis-Clark State

NJCAA Division I
District I - Grant Waltke, Pima CC
District II - James Black, New Mexico JC
District III - Mike Hagen, Indian Hills CC
District IV - Sean Covich, Meridian CC

NJCAA Division II
East - Darin Pint, Kirkwood CC
Central - Tom Ferris, John A. Logan
West - Jake Harrington, South Mountain