Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



2018 NJCAA Jack Nicklaus Award presented by Barbasol Finalists Announced


NORMAN, Okla. – Six finalists have been named for the 2018 NJCAA Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol. Callum Bruce and Michael Salazar of Midland College, South Mountain’s Leon D’Souza, Isaiah Jackson of Meridian, Julien Sale of Indian Hills, and Mississippi Gulf Coast’s Brice Wilkinson are finalists for the award. The winner will be announced May 31. The Award presentation will be held at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, and presented by award namesake Jack Nicklaus during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide.

In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the five recipients will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA TOUR’s Barbasol Championship, held July 16-22, at the Champions at Keene Trace in Lexington, Ky. The Barbasol Shootout will be held Saturday, June 2 at the storied Scioto Country Club in Columbus, Ohio - the same club where Jack Nicklaus first learned the game of golf as a young boy.

A freshman from Banff, Scotland, Bruce has posted four victories this season. He also posted three runner-up finishes and placed in the top 10 four other occassions. Bruce only finished outside the top 10 twice in 13 tournaments. He posted a 71.35 stroke average for the season.

D’Souza carded three victories his freshman campaign. From Clonlara, Michigan, he has not placed outside the top 10 in seven events. D’Souza recorded a 71.44 stroke average.

Jackson hales from Golden, Miss. The sophomore has claimed medalist honors four times this seaosn. Additionally, Jackson was runner up twice and only placed outside the top 10 once in 11 events. Jackson boasted a 71.81 stroke average and is the top-ranked NJCAA Division II golfer in Golfstat.

Salazar is a sophomore from El Paso, Texas. He has three individual victories this season. He has eight other top 10 finishes. Salazar’s worst showing was 12th. He sported a stroke average of 70.77.

A sophomore from Reunion Island, Sale has recorded four victories this season. He also has four additional top 10 finishes. He placed outside the top 10 twice in 10 events. The top-ranked NJCAA Division I player in Golfstat and posted a 71.33 stroke average.

Wilkinson, a freshman from Madison, Miss., won medalist at the NJCAA District D Championship by five shots. He also had five other top-five finishes. Wilkinson has only placed outside the top 10 once in 11 tournaments. His stroke average is 72.44.

Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988 and it is now presented to the National Player of the year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III, as well as NAIA and NJCAA.

About Barbasol:
Barbasol is America’s #1 brand of shaving cream. For nearly 100 years, generations of men have trusted Barbasol for a close, comfortable shave. Barbasol is now proud to offer a comprehensive assortment of premium razors. Barbasol Shaving Cream and Razors are available at retailers nationwide. Barbasol is owned by Dublin, Ohio-based Perio Inc. For more information on Barbasol, visit