Skip to main content

The Official Website of the Golf Coaches Association of America



2018 Division III Jack Nicklaus Award presented by Barbasol Finalists Announced


NORMAN, Okla. – Five finalists have been named for the 2018 Division III Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol. Josh Gibson of Hope, UT Tyler’s Sam Hill, Ryan Isaacson of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, Illinois Wesleyan’s Conner O’Neil, and Cade Osgood of Southwestern (TX) are finalists for the award. The winner will be announced May 31. The Award presentation will be held at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, and presented by award namesake Jack Nicklaus during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide.

In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the five recipients will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA TOUR’s Barbasol Championship, held July 16-22, at the Champions at Keene Trace in Lexington, Ky. The Barbasol Shootout will be held Saturday, June 2 at the storied Scioto Country Club in Columbus, Ohio - the same club where Jack Nicklaus first learned the game of golf as a young boy.

The defending NCAA Champion, Gibson has posted four victories this season. He was runner-up three times and placed third twice. Gibson’s worst finish in 12 events was tied for seventh.

A senior, Hill was named the American Southwest Conference Co-Player of the Year. He posted six top 10 finishes in eight tournaments.

Isaacson claimed one tournament victory on the season. He posted six additional top-five finishes. Isaacson placed outside the top 20 only once in 10 events.

O’Neil won outright or shared medalist honors twice during his senior campaign. He tallied seven top 10 finishes in nine events. O’Neil only placed outside the top 20 once.

Osgood posted one victory on the season, winning the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference title. He posed three additional top five finishes and placed outside the top eight only once in nine events. Osgood worst finish was T14.

Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988 and it is now presented to the National Player of the year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III, as well as NAIA and NJCAA.

About Barbasol:
Barbasol is America’s #1 brand of shaving cream. For nearly 100 years, generations of men have trusted Barbasol for a close, comfortable shave. Barbasol is now proud to offer a comprehensive assortment of premium razors. Barbasol Shaving Cream and Razors are available at retailers nationwide. Barbasol is owned by Dublin, Ohio-based Perio Inc. For more information on Barbasol, visit